Challenge on targets already on the ground?

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: DND Mods

Challenge on targets already on the ground?

Postby pipicus » Sun Feb 22, 2015 10:53 pm

The challenge card reads :

Target 1 enemy Creature at Range 1 - 3 in your forward arc. If that Creature is "in the air," the Creature must immediately remove all existing Altitude Tokens and then choose to receive either a Swoop Token or a Ground Token. That Creature cannot change altitude again for the rest of the round.


Can you use challenge against a target already on the ground?

If so, can that creature change altitude in that round?
pipicus
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Challenge on targets already on the ground?

Postby dndrulesteam » Mon Feb 23, 2015 12:21 pm

No, Challenge is only effective against creatures in the air. The last sentence is a follow-up to the previous sentence.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Challenge on targets already on the ground?

Postby deltaangelfire » Tue Jun 09, 2015 4:07 pm

If that was the case, shouldn't the first sentence have been worded similar to Wings of Bahamut? ("Free Action: Discard this Upgrade to target a number of enemy flying Creatures at Range 1 - 3 (in any direction) equal to the number of Artifacts of Bahamut remaining in your Legion, including this one.")

Every other card I can think of has all the conditionals for targetting are in that first sentence (Derision, Trickster, Parley, Awesome Blow all of the "just damaged by your x breath" cards). Is this just a misprint of the card?
User avatar
deltaangelfire
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Challenge on targets already on the ground?

Postby dndrulesteam » Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:41 pm

The Challenge Card's wording, although technically correct, would definitely have been clearer had we included the word "flying" in the first sentence.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Challenge on targets already on the ground?

Postby fyjham » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:00 am

A very subtle point on this one - can challenge still be used to target a model on the ground? As you've clarified, it wouldn't do anything, but does that stop you using it?

To be clear, the objective of the person using challenge in this way is to get a excuse to check range/arc to the target.
fyjham
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 10:47 am


Return to Dungeons and Dragons Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest