Wave 6 - Swallowed Whole, creature killed

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: DND Mods

Wave 6 - Swallowed Whole, creature killed

Postby deltaangelfire » Wed Apr 15, 2015 1:05 pm

Swallowed Whole Token
[q]A Creature with a Swallowed Whole Token suffers the following effects:

* Remove the affected Creature from the play area. It is considered out of play and cannot affect or be affected by anything new that happens in the play area. All existing Effects continue to affect the Creature, however.
* The affected Creature sustains 1 normal damage that penetrates Armor at the start of the End Phase. This has no effect against Acid Creatures.
* When the Effect ends, the affected Creature places itself within Range 1 of your Creature facing the direction of its choice.[/q]

What happens if the swallowing creature is killed (and thus no longer on the board when the swallowed effect ends?)
User avatar
deltaangelfire
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Wave 6 - Swallowed Whole, creature killed

Postby dndrulesteam » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:37 pm

As per the card text on the "Swallowed Whole" Upgrade Card (with "you" referring to the owner of the Swallowed Whole Upgrade):

"If you receive lethal damage (or if the Giant Toad is discarded), this effect ends immediately."

Since the effect ends immediately, the creature inside the Giant Toad escapes at that time (as per the Reference Card). He escapes right away during the Combat Phase, since that's when the creature with the Giant Toad receives the lethal damage.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Wave 6 - Swallowed Whole, creature killed

Postby deltaangelfire » Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:28 pm

as a follow up, the released creature would be able to attack even if its level number had already passed (as the highest level creature that hadn't attacked), correct?
User avatar
deltaangelfire
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Wave 6 - Swallowed Whole, creature killed

Postby dndrulesteam » Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:33 pm

Correct.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Wave 6 - Swallowed Whole, creature killed

Postby priesmal » Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:30 am

[q]* When the Effect ends, the affected Creature places itself within Range 1 of your Creature facing the direction of its choice.[/q]

I know this is semantics, but it came up in a previous game. Does the creature have to be completely within Range 1? And does the swallowed creature choose its facing? Thank you.
priesmal
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:33 pm

Re: Wave 6 - Swallowed Whole, creature killed

Postby dndrulesteam » Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:43 pm

The swallowed creature does not need to be completely within range 1. The swallowed creature chooses its own facing.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm


Return to Dungeons and Dragons Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest