OP7 - "All troops...considered veteran"

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: DND Mods

OP7 - "All troops...considered veteran"

Postby dungeonsend00002 » Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:21 pm

In the adventure set-up it states "All troops fielded during this adventure are considered veteran troops. Each upgrade that is equipped by a troop with 2 or more soldiers costs -1 LP."
The Veteran card (apparently spoiled on ebay) says all heroic (or monster in the case of Aarakocra) upgrades cost -1LP. Would the scenario rule modify the "Veteran" upgrade text in this case, allowing someone to take the Fly spell on the elven troop at -1LP?
If all troops are considered Veteran, will troops get to add the +2 slots granted by veteran for this adventure?
In the special rules heading of the adventure, it states "All troops with 2 or more soldiers roll +1 defense die during this adventure." Is this in addition to or in place of the Veteran upgrade text which apparently states "You roll +1 defense die against Line, Cone, Burst and other attacks that specify they can affect more than 1 creature. Must be a unique troop to equip." If it's in addition to, troops will be rolling 2 extra defense dice against these kinds of area attacks?
And the adventure rules state all troops are considered veteran whereas the veteran upgrade states that you must be a unique troop to equip. Does the adventure rule take precedence here, potentially granting generic troops veteran bonuses?
dungeonsend00002
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: OP7 - "All troops...considered veteran"

Postby dndrulesteam » Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:01 pm

Sorry for the confusion. The Veterans Upgrade has nothing to do with the special "veteran" text in the OP 7 Adventure.

In addition, as per the instructions, you are also not allowed to equip those Upgrades for this adventure.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: OP7 - "All troops...considered veteran"

Postby kingbobb » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:47 am

Ok, so to clarify:

Troops played in OP7 do not get any benefits from the Veterans upgrade card, which are included as Prize Participation rewards for OP7.

Troops played in OP7 do get the following special rules:

All upgrades equipped by a troop with 2 or more soldiers costs -1LP.
All troops with 2 or more soldiers roll +1 Defense Die.
No troop can lose more than 1 soldier to a single morale check.


Followup Question on the bonus defense die: Does this look to the troops starting composition, or to their current, in game status? Meaning, if the troop starts with 2+ soldiers, it gets the bonus Defense Dice for the whole game, or only so long as the troop has 2+ soldiers in play?
kingbobb
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:11 pm

Re: OP7 - "All troops...considered veteran"

Postby dndrulesteam » Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:53 pm

The Troops only receive the +1 defense die while they still have 2 soldiers. Once they are down to their last soldier, they lose this bonus.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm


Return to Dungeons and Dragons Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest