Counter spell vs Counter spell

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: DND Mods

Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby deltaangelfire » Fri Oct 30, 2015 1:41 am

I use an attack spell (like Lightning Bolt). Opponent attempts to negate it with Counter Spell. I Negate opponents Counter spell with my own counter spell on the same creature. Can that creature still proceed with its original lightning bolt attack?

You may discard this card after a Creature activates a Spell Upgrade within Range 1 - 3 in your forward arc. If you do so, the Creature's Spell Upgrade has no effect. All costs for activating the Spell Upgrade (placing DTs, disabling or discarding the Spell Upgrade, spending Target or Concentrate Tokens, etc.) remain spent, and the Creature's Action or attack is wasted. After activating the Counterspell, you cannot initiate any attacks for the rest of the Round.
User avatar
deltaangelfire
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby dndrulesteam » Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:19 am

Yes.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby dungeonsend00002 » Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:54 am

That answer seems slightly counter-intuitive. Counterspell says you can't initiate an attack after using it so my first assumption would be the neither of the creatures that used Countespell could attack. Do you get around it in this instance because the original attack was initiated before that creature used Counterspell?
dungeonsend00002
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby dndrulesteam » Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:37 am

Correct, the attack was already initiated.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby vagita35 » Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:13 pm

Can the Counter spell be used when it is disabled by a spell effect.
vagita35
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby dndrulesteam » Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:46 pm

Counterspell can be used to stop another spell from disabling it, but it cannot be used if Counterspell was already disabled from a previous effect.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby chunkyvacuus » Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:45 pm

apologies if thsi is a dumb question.
if ive already attacked this turn can i still counter spell another creatures attack?

thank you
chunkyvacuus
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 8:37 am

Re: Counter spell vs Counter spell

Postby dndrulesteam » Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:29 am

chunkyvacuus wrote:apologies if thsi is a dumb question.
if ive already attacked this turn can i still counter spell another creatures attack?

thank you


Yes, this is an advantage for being a higher level creature.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm


Return to Dungeons and Dragons Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests