Adamatine Lance, Mount, and Shields

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: DND Mods

Adamatine Lance, Mount, and Shields

Postby kingbobb » Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:20 am

The two shield cards in the game (Arrow Catching and Crabshell...apologies if there are more I've missed) both state

You cannot equip another Shield Upgrade or a Two-Handed Weapon Upgrade

The Adamatine Lance states

If you are ever without a Mount Upgrade, you must immediately discard any Shield Upgrade you have equipped

There's nothing on the mount cards (like Warhorse or Giant Vulture) stating that having a mount allows you to equip a 2-handed weapon like the Lance along with a Shield, but the Lance appears to suggest that this is possible.

Question is: Can a creature equipped with a mount also equip an Adamantine Lance or other 2-handed weapon along with a shield?
kingbobb
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:11 pm

Re: Adamatine Lance, Mount, and Shields

Postby dndrulesteam » Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:25 am

kingbobb wrote:The two shield cards in the game (Arrow Catching and Crabshell...apologies if there are more I've missed) both state

You cannot equip another Shield Upgrade or a Two-Handed Weapon Upgrade

The Adamatine Lance states

If you are ever without a Mount Upgrade, you must immediately discard any Shield Upgrade you have equipped

There's nothing on the mount cards (like Warhorse or Giant Vulture) stating that having a mount allows you to equip a 2-handed weapon like the Lance along with a Shield, but the Lance appears to suggest that this is possible.

Question is: Can a creature equipped with a mount also equip an Adamantine Lance or other 2-handed weapon along with a shield?


The Adamantine Lance is not listed as a "Two Handed Weapon", so there is no restriction on using a Shield with the Lance specifically. However, as stated on the Lance card, if you are ever without a Mount, then you must discard any Shield that you have equipped.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Re: Adamatine Lance, Mount, and Shields

Postby malcolyn » Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:36 am

Hmm, so this effectively prevents any large base creature from using both the lance and a shield?
malcolyn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:35 am

Re: Adamatine Lance, Mount, and Shields

Postby dndrulesteam » Fri Mar 04, 2016 4:14 pm

Yes, you may perform those activities in either order, as long as you do not perform them more than once during the same attack.

Yes, you may trigger Improved Critical to make someone flip up an instant damage card if that card happens to be the one that is randomly selected.
dndrulesteam
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:28 pm


Return to Dungeons and Dragons Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest