Starter Pack - Lursa

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Starter Pack - Lursa

Postby jmramsdell » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:40 am

Lursa (Captain): "At the beginning of the game round, you may flip this card. WHEN ATTACKING: If this ship is cloaked: This ship rolls +1 attack die."

Once flipped does the ship gain that ability for the rest of the game, round or one attack? I assume the ship has now lost her captain, can an admiral take over? Does this affect the ability gained?
jmramsdell
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:44 pm

Re: Starter Pack - Lursa

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:12 am

We're a little confused about what's actually being asked here. There are two separate effects here:

Effect 1 - At the beginning of the game round, you may flip this card.

Effect 2 - WHEN ATTACKING: If this ship is cloaked: This ship rolls +1 attack die.

The effect to flip the card has no bearing on the second effect. Lursa's second effect is specific to that attack. For example, if Lursa's ship were to get two attacks in one game round you could use this effect once on the first attack to add +1 attack die for that attack and once on the second attack to add +1 attack die for that attack. There's nothing here to denote that this would be a persistent effect and this aligns with previous WHEN ATTACKING/WHEN DEFENDING effects and rulings.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Starter Pack - Lursa

Postby drnicket » Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:03 pm

Can you legally deploy one side of the new starter Lursa/B'Etor along with the opposite B'Etor or Lursa (from the OP prize IKS Toral) in a Crew slot? I presume that if the card is flipped, one or the other becomes illegal and is only then discarded.

B'Etor (IKS Toral)
"A friendly ship within Range 1-2 of your ship may use the Action or ability on your [ELITE TALENT] Upgrade as if it were assigned to that ship. If Lursa is the Captain of your ship, you may fill one of your [CREW] Upgrade slots with this card and gain +4 to your Captain Skill."

Lursa (IKS Toral)
"You may perform a [CLOAK] or [SENSOR ECHO] Action as a free Action (if your ship has the appropriate Action on its Action Bar). If B'Etor is the Captain of your ship, you may fill one of your [CREW] Upgrade slots with this card and gain +4 to your Captain Skill."
User avatar
drnicket
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:44 pm

Re: Starter Pack - Lursa

Postby stawrulesteam » Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:17 pm

drnicket wrote:Can you legally deploy one side of the new starter Lursa/B'Etor along with the opposite B'Etor or Lursa (from the OP prize IKS Toral) in a Crew slot? I presume that if the card is flipped, one or the other becomes illegal and is only then discarded.

B'Etor (IKS Toral)
"A friendly ship within Range 1-2 of your ship may use the Action or ability on your [ELITE TALENT] Upgrade as if it were assigned to that ship. If Lursa is the Captain of your ship, you may fill one of your [CREW] Upgrade slots with this card and gain +4 to your Captain Skill."

Lursa (IKS Toral)
"You may perform a [CLOAK] or [SENSOR ECHO] Action as a free Action (if your ship has the appropriate Action on its Action Bar). If B'Etor is the Captain of your ship, you may fill one of your [CREW] Upgrade slots with this card and gain +4 to your Captain Skill."


If you equip the starter set Lursa/B'Etor flip card you cannot equip the Lursa OR B'Etor crew. When building the Lursa/B'Etor flip card counts as both for the purposes of fleet construction and uniqueness.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests