Wave 8 - Enterprise-E - Data

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Wave 8 - Enterprise-E - Data

Postby rickyrob » Sat Mar 14, 2015 9:06 pm

Data
During the modify attack dice step of the combat phase, you may discard this card to force an enemy ship to re-roll its entire attack roll.


When exactly does this card take effect? Since the order of operation for the combat phase is; Roll Attack Dice, Defender Modifies Attack Dice, Attacker Modifies Attack Dice, Would this card be used during the Defender Modifies Attack dice step meaning that the attacker after being forced to reroll their dice are free to then modify it, or can the defender choose to use it after the attacker has modified their roll?

Also The rules state that When using a target lock the dice can only be rerolled one time unless a card states otherwise. Does this mean that when a defender uses a card like Data that forces the attacker to reroll all their dice that the attacker can not use a target lock because they have already rerolled the dice once?
rickyrob
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:19 pm

Re: Enterprise-E Data

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed May 13, 2015 3:00 pm

rickyrob wrote:Data
During the modify attack dice step of the combat phase, you may discard this card to force an enemy ship to re-roll its entire attack roll.


When exactly does this card take effect? Since the order of operation for the combat phase is; Roll Attack Dice, Defender Modifies Attack Dice, Attacker Modifies Attack Dice, Would this card be used during the Defender Modifies Attack dice step meaning that the attacker after being forced to reroll their dice are free to then modify it, or can the defender choose to use it after the attacker has modified their roll?

Also The rules state that When using a target lock the dice can only be rerolled one time unless a card states otherwise. Does this mean that when a defender uses a card like Data that forces the attacker to reroll all their dice that the attacker can not use a target lock because they have already rerolled the dice once?


This card would take place during the Defender Modifies Attack Dice Step of the Combat Phase.

Yes, you are correct. If you use Data the attacker could not use a Target Lock or other method to re-roll the dice unless specified on a specific card.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Enterprise-E Data

Postby wiegeabo » Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:40 am

stawrulesteam wrote:This card would take place during the Defender Modifies Attack Dice Step of the Combat Phase.

Yes, you are correct. If you use Data the attacker could not use a Target Lock or other method to re-roll the dice unless specified on a specific card.



Is this specific to Data's ship being the Defender? Or could it apply to any friendly ship in combat?

Example: A friendly ship is defending. During the Modify Attack Dice step of that combat, could Data (equipped to a different ship) be used to force the attack dice reroll? Even if his ship is not involved in the combat.
wiegeabo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:37 pm

Re: Wave 8 - Enterprise-E - Data

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:37 pm

This can be used against any attacking enemy ship regardless of the target.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Wave 8 - Enterprise-E - Data

Postby darkarth » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:14 pm

"This can be used against any attacking enemy ship regardless of the target."


Doesn't this directly contradict rule 4 of the tournament rules?

"4. Many card abilities use the word “you” to specifically reference that Ship Card. Abilities on Ship Cards cannot affect other ships unless explicitly specified by the ability. Likewise, Upgrade Cards and Damage Cards only affect the ship to which they are assigned, unless otherwise specified."
darkarth
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:29 am

Re: Wave 8 - Enterprise-E - Data

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue May 15, 2018 4:31 pm

darkarth wrote:"This can be used against any attacking enemy ship regardless of the target."


Doesn't this directly contradict rule 4 of the tournament rules?

"4. Many card abilities use the word “you” to specifically reference that Ship Card. Abilities on Ship Cards cannot affect other ships unless explicitly specified by the ability. Likewise, Upgrade Cards and Damage Cards only affect the ship to which they are assigned, unless otherwise specified."


Not at all. The you rule pertains to things like "you roll +1 attack die" or "you must have at least 1 Crew Upgrade". Those things specifically have to do with the ship per rule 4.

Let's deconstruct this rule and Data a bit further:

"Likewise, Upgrade Cards and Damage Cards only affect the ship to which they are assigned, unless otherwise specified."

Data is an Upgrade Card which means that it can only affect the ship to which he's assigned unless otherwise specified.

Does Data specify another target? Yes, an enemy ship.

There are also no other conditions or stipulations that require Data's ship to be the one defending and the card does not specify a range. The only criteria that must be met are that an enemy ship must be attacking and it must be activated during the Modify Attack Dice Step.

If we rewrite using the new formatting:

MODIFY ATTACK DICE STEP: Discard this card and target an opposing ship.

The target ship must re-roll its entire attack roll.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Wave 8 - Enterprise-E - Data

Postby drak3n » Wed May 16, 2018 6:23 am

Doesn't this ruling contradict the rule book?

3. MODIFY ATTACK DICE
During this step, players may resolve abilities and spend tokens
that allow them to modify attack dice. This includes adding die
results, converting die results, and re-rolling dice (see “Modifying
Dice Results” below).
If a player wants to resolve multiple modifying abilities, they
resolve them in the order of their choosing. If the attacker
and defender both have abilities that modify the attack dice,
the defender resolves all of their abilities before the attacker
resolves any.


According to the rule book, only the attacking and defending ship's may trigger abilities during this step - unless of course the card specifically states it may do so (Data doesn't).
drak3n
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:00 pm

Re: Wave 8 - Enterprise-E - Data

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri May 18, 2018 6:27 pm

drak3n wrote:Doesn't this ruling contradict the rule book?

3. MODIFY ATTACK DICE
During this step, players may resolve abilities and spend tokens
that allow them to modify attack dice. This includes adding die
results, converting die results, and re-rolling dice (see “Modifying
Dice Results” below).
If a player wants to resolve multiple modifying abilities, they
resolve them in the order of their choosing. If the attacker
and defender both have abilities that modify the attack dice,
the defender resolves all of their abilities before the attacker
resolves any.


According to the rule book, only the attacking and defending ship's may trigger abilities during this step - unless of course the card specifically states it may do so (Data doesn't).


No it does not. This section talks specifically about players, not their ships.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests