Page 1 of 1

Synergy, when can I play it?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:06 am
by morethanenough
Hi!

I have a doubt with synergy. My exemple is the next:

Jay Garrik, leadfoot - SYNERGY - While Jay Garrik is active, when your oponentuses a Global Ability, you may pay ;Bolt; ;Shield; to cancel that ability.

At bottom of the card explains how synergy works: synergy abilities can be used while the character is active, any time you could use a global action.

When can I play then Jay Garrik's synergy? Is synergy other Global but with a diferent name?

Thanks, regards!

Re: Synergy, when can I play it?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:00 am
by dmrulesteam
morethanenough wrote:Hi!

I have a doubt with synergy. My exemple is the next:

Jay Garrik, leadfoot - SYNERGY - While Jay Garrik is active, when your oponentuses a Global Ability, you may pay ;Bolt; ;Shield; to cancel that ability.

At bottom of the card explains how synergy works: synergy abilities can be used while the character is active, any time you could use a global action.

When can I play then Jay Garrik's synergy? Is synergy other Global but with a diferent name?

Thanks, regards!


Jay Garrick's ability is slightly different from most. His Synergy ability can be used whenever you could use a Global Ability in the sense that it is used as a reaction when appropriate. For example, Jay Garrick is active in your Field Zone. Your opponent uses Rip Hunter's Chalkboard's Global Ability. You immediately may pay a Bolt and Shield Energy to cancel that Global Ability. Your opponent continues their turn.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Synergy, when can I play it?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:54 pm
by sixsixmajin
I think I have had a totally incorrect interpretation of the "whenever you could use a global ability" portion of Synergy (and similar abilities prior to the Synergy keyword). I thought it meant "if you have the ability to use a global, as in, you can pay the cost for one of the available globals, you can use the ability. For example, PXG is available and I have a mask that I can pay it with so even if I don't utilize PXG, I can still use a Synergy ability because I have the ability to use PXG and if I didn't have that mask and couldn't use PXG, then I also couldn't use Synergy.

So if I'm understanding this right, literally the only requirement for using a Synergy ability is it just has to be activated in a window that allows globals to be used (and you pay any costs required by the Synergy)? Willikers, if that's the case, then I have been playing all wrong and I feel silly now...

Re: Synergy, when can I play it?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:28 pm
by dmrulesteam
sixsixmajin wrote:I think I have had a totally incorrect interpretation of the "whenever you could use a global ability" portion of Synergy (and similar abilities prior to the Synergy keyword). I thought it meant "if you have the ability to use a global, as in, you can pay the cost for one of the available globals, you can use the ability. For example, PXG is available and I have a mask that I can pay it with so even if I don't utilize PXG, I can still use a Synergy ability because I have the ability to use PXG and if I didn't have that mask and couldn't use PXG, then I also couldn't use Synergy.

So if I'm understanding this right, literally the only requirement for using a Synergy ability is it just has to be activated in a window that allows globals to be used (and you pay any costs required by the Synergy)? Willikers, if that's the case, then I have been playing all wrong and I feel silly now...


To remove any doubt, in order to use Synergy abilities you:
1) Must have the appropriate timing window (which matches when you could use Global Abilities)
2) Must be able to pay appropriate costs and have valid targets (if applicable)

-The Dice Masters Rules Team