Double Green Devil Mask: Lesser Trap

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Double Green Devil Mask: Lesser Trap

Postby weapono » Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:47 am

Hail WKRF team!

There has been much discussion about the concept of a "queue" in terms of the timing of resolving effects in the game. One particular interaction from the new Tomb of Annihilation set might help shed light on how we are supposed to handle sequential, multiple simultaneous triggers. The particular interaction in question is when Player A has two common Green Devil Mask: Lesser Traps (ToA 32) in the field and Player B fields a 4th character die meeting the trap's Trigger condition.

Assuming both of Player A's traps are triggered, which of the follow occurs…

A. all four of Player B's character dice are forced to be rerolled.
B. if all four dice reroll to character faces, are they rerolled again (because of the queued up effect of the 2nd trap)?
C. if after the first reroll only 3 or fewer dice come up character faces, does the queued up effect of the 2nd trap still cause these dice to be rerolled another time (because at the time when the trap was triggered there were 4 dice in the field)?
D. or if after the first reroll there are now less than 4 character dice in the field, does the 2nd activated trap's effect no longer trigger a reroll, because the conditions necessary for it's effect to trigger are no longer in play?

Green Devil Mask: Lesser Trap reads…
Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
:
Trigger: Your opponent has 4 or more active character dice.
:
Effect: Your opponent must reroll all of their active character dice. Move any that roll an energy face to their Used Pile.


Thanks! Roll on!
weapono
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 2:28 am

Re: Double Green Devil Mask: Lesser Trap

Postby dmrulesteam » Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:50 pm

weapono wrote:Hail WKRF team!

There has been much discussion about the concept of a "queue" in terms of the timing of resolving effects in the game. One particular interaction from the new Tomb of Annihilation set might help shed light on how we are supposed to handle sequential, multiple simultaneous triggers. The particular interaction in question is when Player A has two common Green Devil Mask: Lesser Traps (ToA 32) in the field and Player B fields a 4th character die meeting the trap's Trigger condition.

Assuming both of Player A's traps are triggered, which of the follow occurs…

A. all four of Player B's character dice are forced to be rerolled.
B. if all four dice reroll to character faces, are they rerolled again (because of the queued up effect of the 2nd trap)?
C. if after the first reroll only 3 or fewer dice come up character faces, does the queued up effect of the 2nd trap still cause these dice to be rerolled another time (because at the time when the trap was triggered there were 4 dice in the field)?
D. or if after the first reroll there are now less than 4 character dice in the field, does the 2nd activated trap's effect no longer trigger a reroll, because the conditions necessary for it's effect to trigger are no longer in play?

Green Devil Mask: Lesser Trap reads…
Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
:
Trigger: Your opponent has 4 or more active character dice.
:
Effect: Your opponent must reroll all of their active character dice. Move any that roll an energy face to their Used Pile.


Thanks! Roll on!


C. Both traps trigger. You reroll the 4 character die once. Then you reroll any that rolled character faces a second time, regardless of how many rolled character faces the first time.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron