Page 1 of 1

Is BFF Magic Missile considered a "functional reprint"?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:39 pm
by klumze
Is the BFF Magic Missile basic action considered a "functional repirnt" of the new ToA Magic Missile.

BFF Magic Missile reads

"Deal 2 damage to target character or player.
** Deal extra damage to a character equal to the level of your highest level adventurer in the field.
Global: Pay bolt. Deal 1 damage to a character."

Tomb of Annihlation Magic Missile reads

Deal 2 damage to target character die or player.
** Deal extra damage to a character equal to the level of your highest level adventurer in the field.
Global: Pay bolt. Deal 1 damage to a character."

Am I correct to assume that this is a functional reprint and thus legal in Modern play?

Re: Is BFF Magic Missile considered a "functional reprint"?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:16 pm
by dmrulesteam
klumze wrote:Is the BFF Magic Missile basic action considered a "functional repirnt" of the new ToA Magic Missile.

BFF Magic Missile reads

"Deal 2 damage to target character or player.
** Deal extra damage to a character equal to the level of your highest level adventurer in the field.
Global: Pay bolt. Deal 1 damage to a character."

Tomb of Annihlation Magic Missile reads

Deal 2 damage to target character die or player.
** Deal extra damage to a character equal to the level of your highest level adventurer in the field.
Global: Pay bolt. Deal 1 damage to a character."

Am I correct to assume that this is a functional reprint and thus legal in Modern play?


You're correct.

All 3 printings of Magic Missile are legal while 1 of them is legal, since they're functionally identical reprints. The rotation FAQ mentions this rule:
https://wizkids.com/dicemasters/dice-ma ... ation-faq/

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php