Page 1 of 1

Definition of "functional reprint"

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 7:31 pm
by ccm00007
Hi,

I have a question regarding the following ruling: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14135

This ruling states that "All 3 printings of Magic Missile are legal while 1 of them is legal, since they're functionally identical reprints."

If two basic action cards have different names, but functionally identical effects, such as "Odin's Fury" from The Mighty Thor and "True Believer" from Amazing Spider-man, are these also considered functional reprints? If so, does this mean that True Believer is Modern-legal?

Thank you for your time.

Re: Definition of "functional reprint"

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:02 pm
by dmrulesteam
ccm00007 wrote:Hi,

I have a question regarding the following ruling: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14135

This ruling states that "All 3 printings of Magic Missile are legal while 1 of them is legal, since they're functionally identical reprints."

If two basic action cards have different names, but functionally identical effects, such as "Odin's Fury" from The Mighty Thor and "True Believer" from Amazing Spider-man, are these also considered functional reprints? If so, does this mean that True Believer is Modern-legal?

Thank you for your time.


Those aren't functional reprints - they could be used on the same team together in Golden Age Play.

Another example of a nearly identical reprint would be Resurrection - the one from the Superman/Wonder Woman Starter Set doesn't have the Good icon like the other Resurrection Basic Action Die does.

Functional Reprints must do the exact same thing, with the exact same name, and if applicable - using the same die. Sometimes cards have their wording changed to reflect clarity or updated templating for how effects are described - so even though they're a reprint of the old card, they're not an identical reprint (Big Entrance for example).

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Definition of "functional reprint"

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:47 pm
by dmrulesteam
We've received a handful of followup questions on this matter.

"While you can use heroes and villains together, or characters from different teams, you can’t use two cards with the same name (even if they have different subtitles). For example, if you choose Artemis: Shim’Tar, you cannot also choose Artemis: Amazon of Bana-Mighdall. "
So you'd be unable to use 2 copies of Resurrection on your team even if they're functionally different because of one not having the Neutral alignment (apologies for mistakenly identifying it as Good previously). If you were playing a format where one version of Resurrection was legal, you couldn't use the other version (ie Modern, or Tomb of Annihilation only).

Cards that have the same name, and are functionally identical like Magic Missile (BFF, OP, and ToA printings) may be used in Modern play as long as one of them is legal.

Differently named cards are never considered functional reprints of one another. Full stop.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php