KOing Iron Will

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

KOing Iron Will

Postby madmurdok » Mon Nov 28, 2022 12:26 pm

Iron Will: This character cannot be KO’d unless it was previously damaged this turn or if it is simultaneously damaged by two different sources.

What happens when a character like Steel: John Henry Irons (Iron Will) is fielded on his level 1 side [3A/2D]
and your opponent has Vulcan: Aggression "While Vulcan is active, your opponent's non-fist characters get -2D" ?

Steel's Defense becomes zero [0], but according to the rules of Iron Will... he cannot be KO'd unless he takes damage
from another source.

Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:26 am

Re: KOing Iron Will

Postby dmrulesteam » Tue Nov 29, 2022 9:43 pm

Yes, this is correct.
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: KOing Iron Will

Postby jackalopespam » Wed Nov 30, 2022 2:39 pm

In the case above, you essentially have an active character with 0D. It's not KO'd yet though... so it could be used as a blocker.

So how would that interact with an ability like Overcrush? Suppose a 5A overcrush character is blocked by a 0D Iron Will character. Please explain how to calculate the amount of damage the defending player would or would not take.
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:33 pm

Re: KOing Iron Will

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Nov 30, 2022 3:32 pm

Once the blocker (the 0D Iron Will die) takes combat damage it is KO’d, fulfilling the requirement for Overcrush damage to be applied. Since the blocker had 0D, none of the attack damage is expended (i.e. to bring the blocker to 0D) nor is any of that damage blocked. Therefore, the player would take 5 damage in this situation.

This is consistent with the answers in similar situations from the following rulings:



(refer to the answer for the 3rd question)
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest