Page 1 of 1

Rerolling Action Dice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2023 12:34 pm
by jackalopespam
The following questions stem from the recent ruling that established Die Status vs Die Type. (See here https://win.wizkids.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=16275&sid=438fd659c2f139825fe9bcdd1a7ee498)

Acererak: The Eternal
Global: Pay 1. Once per turn, reroll target action die in your Reserve Pool or Field Zone.


This global has previously been played to let you reroll an action die, even if it's on an energy face, so as to have an extra chance at getting the action you needed. In light of the Die Status, would the Acererak global no longer allow this to happen? Would the global only work on Action Dice showing an Action Face, thus having the Action Die Status?

Crystal: Crystalia Amaquelin
While Crystal is active, during your Roll and Reroll Step, you may reroll your action dice an additional time.


When would a die enter the rolled state of being an Energy Die (Status)? Is it as soon as it is rolled during the Roll and Reroll step or only at the end of the step? (Like with Energize and Spark) In effect, does this ability still allow you to reroll your action dice that show an energy face one additional time to try and roll it as the action?

Re: Rerolling Action Dice

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2023 5:40 pm
by dmrulesteam
This global has previously been played to let you reroll an action die, even if it's on an energy face, so as to have an extra chance at getting the action you needed. In light of the Die Status, would the Acererak global no longer allow this to happen? Would the global only work on Action Dice showing an Action Face, thus having the Action Die Status?


As was stated in the cited ruling: “There will most likely be several non-Modern cards that do not completely coincide with this ruling.”

The intent of Acererak’s Global ability is as you stated. Therefore, this Global ability is an exception to the rule.

When would a die enter the rolled state of being an Energy Die (Status)? Is it as soon as it is rolled during the Roll and Reroll step or only at the end of the step? (Like with Energize and Spark) In effect, does this ability still allow you to reroll your action dice that show an energy face one additional time to try and roll it as the action?


In this scenario, the Action die’s status is determined when the Roll and Reroll Step, which includes any rerolls granted by Crystal’s ability, is completed.