Page 1 of 1

Locked in Combat

PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2023 12:44 am
by jackalopespam
Locked in Combat: Basic Action Card
Target a character die from each player's Field Zone and set them aside until end of turn (then return them to play at their previous level).
When they return to the Field Zone, deal each 2 damage.

Suppose I don't have any characters in my field, but my opponent does. Can I use Locked in Combat to remove one of their characters from the Field even though I'm not able to target one of my own?

Re: Locked in Combat

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2023 11:08 am
by dmrulesteam
Yes. This is covered under the following rule:
Rule 3.2.15 If a card has multiple abilities but you cannot complete them all, do as much as you can.

If there are no Character dice in either player’s Field Zone, then you cannot use Locked in Combat per the following rule:
Rule 3.1.10 Energy cannot be spent, or an ability initiated, under any of the following conditions: (1) there would be no result or potential result that changes the game state; (2) there are no legal targets available; or (3) the resolution of the ability duplicates an existing game state.