Page 1 of 1

Pizza vs Pizza!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2024 4:40 pm
by ccm00007
I have a question about rule 2.1.5 of the Comprehensive Dice Masters rules, which reads as follows:

2.1.5 A team cannot have multiple cards with exactly the same card name/title.


If a card is printed in two different sets, and the only difference in the name is the addition or removal of an exclamation point, are they considered to have the exact same name and if not, can they be used in the same team in Golden Age?

An example of this is Pizza!: Basic Action Card (from the first Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles set) compared to Pizza: Basic Action Card (from the Infinity Gauntlet Draft Packs).

The same is also true of Archnemesis! (from The Mighty Thor and Amazing Spider-Man) compared to Archnemesis (from the Dark Phoenix Saga Draft Packs).

Thank you for your time.

Re: Pizza vs Pizza!

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2024 2:56 pm
by dmrulesteam
No. The inclusion or omission of punctuation or abbreviations between two cards with the same title/name does not violate Rule 2.1.5.

Therefore, you cannot have Pizza and Pizza!, or Archnemesis and Archnemesis! in the same team build.

Also, the inclusion or omission of the definite article “the” in a card’s title/name does not violate Rule 2.1.5.

So, Atom (from the War of Light set) and The Atom (from the Justice League, Justice, or Green Arrow & The Flash sets) cannot be in the same team build.

Refer to the following ruling on the use of abbreviations in a card title:
https://win.wizkids.com/bb/viewtopic.ph ... 61&p=34240