Page 1 of 1

Pyro Uncontrolled

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:41 pm
by flamepulse
Using Pyros global does ? count as lightning bolts? and stay on the table? and if so do they remain on the table as lightning energy or as wildcard energy?

Re: Pyro Uncontrolled

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:00 pm
by dmrulesteam
The Wildcard doesn't count as a Bolt for Pyro's ability. Pyro's ability only counts printed Bolts.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Pyro Uncontrolled

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:13 pm
by crambaza
dmrulesteam wrote:The Wildcard doesn't count as a Bolt for Pyro's ability. Pyro's ability only counts printed Bolts.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Is there a reason that this ruling was made to directly conflict with the updated rulebook for Uncanny X-Men?

The rulebook states:
"The wildcard, represented by a question mark, is worth one, but matches every specific named energy type."

(I didn't add the red,and the bolding, that's directly from the rulebook.)

Are we to consider this errata to the rules, as they conflict with the written rules?

Re: Pyro Uncontrolled

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:32 pm
by dmrulesteam
In general effects like this are state count effects and look for the specific symbol. If there are two symbols on a die face, it will count both, but since they are not actually referencing the energy for usage and are just using it as a bookkeeping function, they do not look at any conversion effects, so Wildcards would not typically count on something like this and would be called out in the wording if that was the intent.

The better interpretation is that wildcards can be used to pay any particular cost (by matching the appropriate energy type), but are not considered as those types until the payment occurs.