Cable, Time Traveler UX#99 - goes to used pile?

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Cable, Time Traveler UX#99 - goes to used pile?

Postby zedulon » Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:23 pm

Text of Cable, Time Traveler's ability:
"When Cable is blocked, you may pay (Bolt, Bolt) to have him damage your opponent (instead of his blockers) as though he were not blocked."

If you use this ability, does Cable, Time Traveler go to the used pile at the end of the attack step, as though he were not blocked?

Or does return to the field / get KO'ed to the Prep area because he was actually blocked?

In other words, does the phrase, "as though he were not blocked" apply to Cable as an attacker, or just the damage he deals? If he is treated as an unblocked attacker, then my interpretation would be that he goes to Used. If only the damage is treated as though he were not blocked, then he would be treated as a blocked attacker. Instead of going to the Used pile, he would then return to the field if not KO'ed by the blocker(s), or go the the Prep area if he was KO'ed by the blocker(s).
zedulon
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:08 pm

Re: Cable, Time Traveler UX#99 - goes to used pile?

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:08 pm

zedulon wrote:Text of Cable, Time Traveler's ability:
"When Cable is blocked, you may pay (Bolt, Bolt) to have him damage your opponent (instead of his blockers) as though he were not blocked."

If you use this ability, does Cable, Time Traveler go to the used pile at the end of the attack step, as though he were not blocked?

Or does return to the field / get KO'ed to the Prep area because he was actually blocked?

In other words, does the phrase, "as though he were not blocked" apply to Cable as an attacker, or just the damage he deals? If he is treated as an unblocked attacker, then my interpretation would be that he goes to Used. If only the damage is treated as though he were not blocked, then he would be treated as a blocked attacker. Instead of going to the Used pile, he would then return to the field if not KO'ed by the blocker(s), or go the the Prep area if he was KO'ed by the blocker(s).


Cable: Time Traveler doesn't go to the Used Pile. That is only where unblocked characters go. He deals the damage as if he was unblocked (to your opponent). The damage he deals is combat damage, and matches his attack value. He goes back to the Prep Area or Field Zone as any other blocked character would.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php