Page 1 of 1

Imprisoned

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:27 pm
by khaven77
The basic action card Imprisoned has a few of us puzzled. The card read "This die captures any number of opposing characters with a total fielding cost of 2 or less. This effect lasts until canceled or you damage your opponent(return the captured die to the field). My question is if my opponent has 3 characters in play each with a fielding cost of 1, can I capture all 3 of them or can I only capture up to 2 of them? Thank you for your help with this.

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:21 pm
by dmrulesteam
You can only capture 2 of them.

If your opponent had 8 dice in play with fielding cost of 0, you could grab them all though! You could also select to capture less than all of them if you wanted to.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:58 am
by dyerkitty
Hate to piggy back of the original here, but what does total fielding cost in this context mean?

Is it the total fielding cost of the character?

Or is it the cost to field the character side?

Example: Professor X has a total fielding cost of 6 - level 1 costs 1, level 2 costs 2, and level 3 costs 3 for a total of 6. This would make Professor X safe from Imprisoned.

Or - I have have 3 Professor X in the field. Each one on a different level. Level 1 could be captured. Level 2 could be captured. Level 3 could not.

If this action works in the latter way - you guys really should have worded it different.

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:21 pm
by mightymeatsauce
Would this work the same on "Cerebro - Cybernetic Intelligence"? Specifically, since it costs nothing to "field" can Imprisoned take it off the board, or is it not considered a character?

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:05 pm
by antifates13
If I use imprisoned and capture my opponents dice then activate Mr. Sinisters global, can I deal the damage to the captured dice?

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 1:08 pm
by puuka
What does capturing them involve? Are they just taken off the field until the damage occurs? Do you get to use them against your opponent?

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:38 pm
by guidox
Hi,

I have a doubt about this card.

When imprisoned effects end? I understand that the last till canceled (using namor for example) or when you damage your opponent.

If the effect is not canceled or I don´t damage my opponent, will imprisoned effect last "forever" or it will end until the end of turn?

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:48 pm
by grantcobb
My friend and I played using this card, via which he successfully captured three sets of my character die (including, I believe, six of my sidekick die.) This left me with two die to use. I lost the game due to the resultant inability to draw die. To make this shorter, does fielding a second Imprison die cancel the first one? It seems extremely off-balance with the rest of the basic action cards.
Thank you.

Re: Imprisoned

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:32 pm
by dmrulesteam
dyerkitty wrote:Hate to piggy back of the original here, but what does total fielding cost in this context mean?

Is it the total fielding cost of the character?

Or is it the cost to field the character side?

Example: Professor X has a total fielding cost of 6 - level 1 costs 1, level 2 costs 2, and level 3 costs 3 for a total of 6. This would make Professor X safe from Imprisoned.

Or - I have have 3 Professor X in the field. Each one on a different level. Level 1 could be captured. Level 2 could be captured. Level 3 could not.

If this action works in the latter way - you guys really should have worded it different.


mightymeatsauce wrote:Would this work the same on "Cerebro - Cybernetic Intelligence"? Specifically, since it costs nothing to "field" can Imprisoned take it off the board, or is it not considered a character?


1) Imprisoned takes into account the total fielding cost of all the characters it is trying to capture. It only looks at the die's face that is showing. So a level 1 Professor X would not be safe from Imprisoned, but a level 3 Professor X would be.

2) Only characters can be captured, unless specifically stated otherwise.

antifates13 wrote:If I use imprisoned and capture my opponents dice then activate Mr. Sinisters global, can I deal the damage to the captured dice?

puuka wrote:What does capturing them involve? Are they just taken off the field until the damage occurs? Do you get to use them against your opponent?

3, 4) As per the rulebook on capturing:

When you capture a die, move the captured die to your field and
place your capturing die on top of it. The captured die no longer exists
for game purposes. Once the capturing ends, place the die wherever it
came from (the text on the capturing die’s card will tell you where you
captured it from). Unless otherwise noted, capturing ends at the end
of the turn, or when the capturing die is knocked out.


guidox wrote:Hi,

I have a doubt about this card.

When imprisoned effects end? I understand that the last till canceled (using namor for example) or when you damage your opponent.

If the effect is not canceled or I don´t damage my opponent, will imprisoned effect last "forever" or it will end until the end of turn?


5) Imprisoned's effect ends when cancelled, removed from the field, or through its own effect (you dealing your opponent damage).

grantcobb wrote:My friend and I played using this card, via which he successfully captured three sets of my character die (including, I believe, six of my sidekick die.) This left me with two die to use. I lost the game due to the resultant inability to draw die. To make this shorter, does fielding a second Imprison die cancel the first one? It seems extremely off-balance with the rest of the basic action cards.
Thank you.


6) Fielding a second Imprisoned die doesn't cancel the first one.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team