Black Manta's Retaliation

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Black Manta's Retaliation

Postby geneinkc » Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:30 pm

The spoiler for Black Manta: Deep Sea Deviant says:
"Retaliation - If one of your Villains is KO'd, deal 1 damage to your opponent for each of your active Villains."

Can you please clarify a few scenarios?

A) I have 1 Black Manta die, 2 Harley Quinn dice, and 1 Joker die fielded. If the Joker die is knocked out, does Retaliation deal 2 damage (1 for Black Manta, 1 for Harley Quinn) or 3 damage (1 for each remaining die)?

B) I have 1 Black Manta die and 1 Harley Quinn die fielded. If the Black Manta die is knocked out, does Retaliation deal 1 damage (for Harley Quinn) or no damage (because Black Manta is no longer active)?

C) Related to scenario B, I have 1 Black Manta die and 1 Harley Quinn die fielded. If they are both knocked out via combat damage (which resolves simultaneously), can the active player choose to knock out Harley Quinn first and trigger Retaliation?
geneinkc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:38 am

Re: Black Manta's Retaliation

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Feb 19, 2015 3:26 pm

Retaliation will only work while Black Manta is active (meaning at least one of his dice is in the Field Zone).
Active is specified in his ability.

A) 2 damage will be dealt, because you'll have 2 active Villains.

B) Since Black Manta is no longer active, it will be 0 damage.

C) Black Manta won't be active when Harley Quinn is KO'd since, as you said, it happens simultaneously.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Black Manta's Retaliation

Postby matthewmac » Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:29 pm

Does this ruling also apply to Mr. Sinister: Nasty Boy? As in, if his global is activated and he knocks himself out, damage is not dealt to the opponent since he's no longer active?
matthewmac
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:22 pm

Re: Black Manta's Retaliation

Postby dmrulesteam » Mon Mar 02, 2015 5:49 pm

matthewmac wrote:Does this ruling also apply to Mr. Sinister: Nasty Boy? As in, if his global is activated and he knocks himself out, damage is not dealt to the opponent since he's no longer active?


Yes. The alternative scenario is where characters take damage to activate their abilities (like Hulk or Iron Man).

When a character takes lethal damage, they still took damage (fulfilling the requirement).

When a character is KO'd, they're no longer active when the requirement is fulfilled (them being KO'd).

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php