Page 1 of 1

Villain affilliation

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 5:39 am
by smeisterus
Sorry if this has been asked before but how does one tell a villain affiliation? Is it only characters with the hydra team symbol?

Re: Villain affilliation

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:33 pm
by dmrulesteam
In Marvel Dice Masters, Villains are characters with the Hydra symbol.

In DC Comics Dice Masters, Villains are characters with the red stylized V symbol.

In either, abilities might turn individual dice into Villains temporarily.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Villain affilliation

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:42 pm
by dmrulesteam
To clarify - a Villain is a Villain no matter the symbol, no matter the brand of origin. We've gotten many versions of this question.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Villain affilliation

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:59 am
by danhenneke
dmrulesteam wrote:To clarify - a Villain is a Villain no matter the symbol, no matter the brand of origin. We've gotten many versions of this question.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team


Are 'Villains' also 'Evil' and vice versa?

Re: Villain affilliation

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:03 pm
by dmrulesteam
danhenneke wrote:
dmrulesteam wrote:To clarify - a Villain is a Villain no matter the symbol, no matter the brand of origin. We've gotten many versions of this question.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team


Are 'Villains' also 'Evil' and vice versa?


Villain and Evil are two different distinctions. Evil is an alignment, Villain is a team affiliation. If there were cards that operated based on affiliations or alignments, they would not be the same.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Villain affilliation

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:12 pm
by underwms
dmrulesteam wrote:To clarify - a Villain is a Villain no matter the symbol, no matter the brand of origin. We've gotten many versions of this question.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team


dmrulesteam wrote:In Marvel Dice Masters, Villains are characters with the Hydra symbol.

In DC Comics Dice Masters, Villains are characters with the red stylized V symbol.

In either, abilities might turn individual dice into Villains temporarily.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team


Can you explain further the phrase "no matter the symbol" in the first quote and the use of the Hydra symbol and V symbol in the second quote? What does that mean for characters like Quicksilver or Scarlet Witch that have versions that are villains (i.e. they have the hydra logo) and other others that are not?

Re: Villain affilliation

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:18 pm
by dmrulesteam
underwms wrote:
dmrulesteam wrote:To clarify - a Villain is a Villain no matter the symbol, no matter the brand of origin. We've gotten many versions of this question.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team


dmrulesteam wrote:In Marvel Dice Masters, Villains are characters with the Hydra symbol.

In DC Comics Dice Masters, Villains are characters with the red stylized V symbol.

In either, abilities might turn individual dice into Villains temporarily.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team


Can you explain further the phrase "no matter the symbol" in the first quote and the use of the Hydra symbol and V symbol in the second quote? What does that mean for characters like Quicksilver or Scarlet Witch that have versions that are villains (i.e. they have the hydra logo) and other others that are not?


The version of Scarlet Witch that has the Villain symbol is considered to have the same affiliation as Catwoman with the Villain symbol (even though Catwoman has a different graphic used for the same information). The versions of Scarlet Witch or Catwoman that do not have the Villain symbol, are not Villains.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team