Page 1 of 1

Punisher-McRook vs Magik-Illyana Rasputina

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 3:26 pm
by acemccloud
We are trying to figure out how this would play and when Magik would be rolled to return to the field.

Punisher Attacks - Using his ability he removes Magik from the Field zone.

Question 1) Is Magik able to roll to return to the field?
Question 2) Is she able to come back in time for assigning blockers?

I figured that the effect on her card does not go off due to the FAQ saying:

4) Q: If a character with a game effect that is triggered by taking damage is KO’ed by a game effect, does their game effect occur?
A: No, effects that KO characters (or ones that move characters to different zones) are not considered to be damage dealt to the character. As an example, Thor, Legendary Warrior’s ability to knock out characters when he deals damage to an opponent is not considered to deal damage to the character and, therefore, his ability would not activate any game effects triggered by taking damage on the character that he knocks out with this ability.


Any help in this would be appreciated.

Re: Punisher-McRook vs Magik-Illyana Rasputina

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:42 pm
by dmrulesteam
acemccloud wrote:We are trying to figure out how this would play and when Magik would be rolled to return to the field.

Punisher Attacks - Using his ability he removes Magik from the Field zone.

Question 1) Is Magik able to roll to return to the field?
Question 2) Is she able to come back in time for assigning blockers?

I figured that the effect on her card does not go off due to the FAQ saying:

4) Q: If a character with a game effect that is triggered by taking damage is KO’ed by a game effect, does their game effect occur?
A: No, effects that KO characters (or ones that move characters to different zones) are not considered to be damage dealt to the character. As an example, Thor, Legendary Warrior’s ability to knock out characters when he deals damage to an opponent is not considered to deal damage to the character and, therefore, his ability would not activate any game effects triggered by taking damage on the character that he knocks out with this ability.


Any help in this would be appreciated.


This one is a bit tricky. Magik’s card specifically states that when she’s KO’d, her ability triggers. Where it gets sticky and starts to differentiate from the FAQ example you referenced is with McRook’s ability, which states specifically that this effect occurs when the Punisher assigns to attack.

With this information, answering your questions in order, since there is no damage dealt qualifier on Punishers card, and the only qualifier for Magik’s ability is the KO prerequisite:

1) Yes, you would be able to reroll Magik’s die.
2) Yes, you would be able to field her, as the Rule Book states that blockers are declared after attackers are assigned.

Note that Magik also rerolls when she is KO'd from damage.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team