Page 1 of 1

(AoU) Giant Man: Pym Particles

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:15 am
by camalott
The ability text states: "When Giant Man attacks, you may reroll him. You may return him to his original face."

I understand the timing of this, and what it means. I know that the aim is to get a second chance to get him to his Level 3 face if you didn't get him there the first time.

However, if you were to roll him onto his (M) or (MM) face, can you return him to your Reserve Pool as usable energy for globals? Or would you have to just reset him back to his original character face?

Sorry that it is a bit corner case, but this came up in a game I was playing and none of us knew how to rule it.

Any information you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Re: (AoU) Giant Man: Pym Particles

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:52 am
by dmrulesteam
camalott wrote:The ability text states: "When Giant Man attacks, you may reroll him. You may return him to his original face."

I understand the timing of this, and what it means. I know that the aim is to get a second chance to get him to his Level 3 face if you didn't get him there the first time.

However, if you were to roll him onto his (M) or (MM) face, can you return him to your Reserve Pool as usable energy for globals? Or would you have to just reset him back to his original character face?

Sorry that it is a bit corner case, but this came up in a game I was playing and none of us knew how to rule it.

Any information you could provide would be greatly appreciated.


Awesome question! We always like questions that are helpful for players to learn from in general.

You could choose to leave Giant Man on his energy face. If you did so, you'd be forced to move his die out of the Field Zone and into the Reserve Pool.

To be extra clear, when it references "his original face" it means the face he was on before rolling him from his ability, not the face he was originally fielded on.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team