Page 1 of 1

Jocasta SR trigger

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:16 am
by cest_madness
The card says, 'The first time each turn Jocasta would be dealt damage, instead deal that damage to your opponent."

Does this work like a blanket ability like 'while active' effect or does it go off for each individual Jocasta die. Basically, does it look at the character as a whole or consider individual dice for each instance? I assumed it would be like the scenario like when X blocks or when X attacks, but I wanted to check since I wasn't sure.

For example, if you blocked 2 pawns (1 each) with 2 Jocasta dice would the opponent take 2 while damage is applied or just 1?

Re: Jocasta SR trigger

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:21 pm
by dmrulesteam
The card says, 'The first time each turn Jocasta would be dealt damage, instead deal that damage to your opponent."

Does this work like a blanket ability like 'while active' effect or does it go off for each individual Jocasta die. Basically, does it look at the character as a whole or consider individual dice for each instance? I assumed it would be like the scenario like when X blocks or when X attacks, but I wanted to check since I wasn't sure.

For example, if you blocked 2 pawns (1 each) with 2 Jocasta dice would the opponent take 2 while damage is applied or just 1?


The card you refer to is Jocasta: Patterned After Janet. The intent underlying this card—and any other card that triggers the first time each turn a character is dealt damage—is that the ability trigger once per turn at the most.

As a result, if you block two 1A 1D Sidekick dice with 2 Jocasta dice (1 per attacking Sidekick), your opponent would take 1 damage.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Jocasta SR trigger

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:23 pm
by felix824
2 Follow Up Questions:

1. How does this card differ from other self-referential cards which were previously ruled here (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2286&p=7357&hilit=referential&sid=52890fb5f444e4f8a801ff2d1ef24201#p7357)?

2. If I were to block an 8A Wolverine and a 1A Sidekick with two Jocasta's, which player would get to decide which one triggers? If the active player (my opponent) got to choose, obviously they'd choose the 1A, while if the inactive player (me) gets to choose, I'd choose the 8A.

Re: Jocasta SR trigger

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:48 pm
by dmrulesteam
felix824 wrote:2 Follow Up Questions:

1. How does this card differ from other self-referential cards which were previously ruled here (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2286&p=7357&hilit=referential&sid=52890fb5f444e4f8a801ff2d1ef24201#p7357)?

2. If I were to block an 8A Wolverine and a 1A Sidekick with two Jocasta's, which player would get to decide which one triggers? If the active player (my opponent) got to choose, obviously they'd choose the 1A, while if the inactive player (me) gets to choose, I'd choose the 8A.


The cards/ruling you've linked to doesn't address any items that reference the first time something happens. Tsarina's ability triggers when she attacks, and each of her dice may attack to cause the ability to happen. After one of Jocasta's dice have been damaged, other of her dice to receive damage are no longer fulfilling the first time Jocasta takes damage requirement for her ability.

The scenario you're describing with combat damage falls back on the idea that combat damage happens simultaneously (see page 4 of the Marvel Dice Masters: Amazing Spider-Man Rulebook):
All attacking or blocking characters deal damage simultaneously.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team

Re: Jocasta SR trigger

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2015 6:14 pm
by dmrulesteam
dmrulesteam wrote:
felix824 wrote:2 Follow Up Questions:

1. How does this card differ from other self-referential cards which were previously ruled here (http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewto ... 4201#p7357)?

2. If I were to block an 8A Wolverine and a 1A Sidekick with two Jocasta's, which player would get to decide which one triggers? If the active player (my opponent) got to choose, obviously they'd choose the 1A, while if the inactive player (me) gets to choose, I'd choose the 8A.


The cards/ruling you've linked to doesn't address any items that reference the first time something happens. Tsarina's ability triggers when she attacks, and each of her dice may attack to cause the ability to happen. After one of Jocasta's dice have been damaged, other of her dice to receive damage are no longer fulfilling the first time Jocasta takes damage requirement for her ability.

The scenario you're describing with combat damage falls back on the idea that combat damage happens simultaneously (see page 4 of the Marvel Dice Masters: Amazing Spider-Man Rulebook):
All attacking or blocking characters deal damage simultaneously.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team


We've received a lot of questions about the last answer.

Damage happens simultaneously. Then, Jocasta's ability tries to go off if it was the first time any of that player's Jocasta dice would take damage. "If simultaneous effects are controlled by the same player, that player chooses the order of those effects." -p. 21 of the Marvel Dice Masters: Amazing Spider-Man rulebook. So the player with Jocasta chooses which instance of her ability triggers (for the 1 damage or the 8 damage), and the remaining instances would not (since they are no longer first). The question here was posed if a single Jocasta die was blocked by two characters, but the same would be true if two Jocasta dice were each blocked by one or more characters with at least 1A. The same is true for Basic Action Cards that would deal damage to multiple Jocasta dice (Force Beam, Fireball); the Jocasta player chooses an instance of her ability to go first - none of the others happen.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team