Single Game Effect Vs Multiple Copies

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Single Game Effect Vs Multiple Copies

Postby dmrulesteam » Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:20 pm

We have previously ruled that a single game effect that triggers a different card effect multiple, simultaneous ways triggers that different card effect only once. (See ruling regarding Force Beam and Hulk in 9/22/14 FAQ). That ruling considered a single action die damaging a single character and its controller at the same time.

That ruling may be generalized to the following rules: When a single die simultaneously triggers a card effect multiple ways, the card effect is triggered only once by that single die. However, separate dice, even if identical, are considered separate effects and each separately trigger a card effect.

To demonstrate the application of this rule, we will use an example: Liz has three level one Black Widow: Tsarina (2/1) and one level three Martian Manhunter: Green Martian (7/4) in play. Jim has two level one (6/5) Hulk: Green Goliaths in play.

Liz attacks with all four character dice. Her three Black Widows all simultaneously trigger (she chooses an order for them to happen in, but it doesn't matter for purposes of this example). Jim has no character dice he can spin down and takes two damage three times due to the abilities of the attacking Black Widow dice. Each of the three Black Widow dice is a separate game effect. As a result, Jim’s Hulk triggers three times during the Declare Attackers step.

In reality, the triggering Hulk would KO all attacking character dice. For the purposes of this example, however, we will assume that all of that damage from Hulk was prevented and the four character dice continue to attack.

Jim blocks the Martian Manhunter with one Hulk and one Black Widow with the second Hulk. Two Black Widows remain unblocked.

In this situation, all combat damage occurs simultaneously (this is the case unless a character has an ability that would cause otherwise). The two unblocked Black Widows each deal two damage to Jim. The blocked Black Widow deals two damage to the blocking Hulk. The blocked Martian Manhunter deals five damage to the other blocking Hulk and two damage (due to Overcrush) to Jim.

Each of these four attacking character dice is a separate game effect in this situation. As a result of the damage these dice do, Jim’s Hulk is triggered four times. This is consistent with the prior ruling at viewtopic.php?f=10&t=5936.

The relevant text from the cards and FAQ is as follows:

Black Widow: Tsarina
When Black Widow attacks, she deals 2 damage to your opponent. Your opponent can prevent this by spinning one of his or her characters down one level.


Martian Manhunter: Green Martian
Overcrush


Hulk: Green Goliath
While Hulk is active, whenever either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk deals 2 damage to each opposing character (no matter how many Hulks are fielded).

* He deals 3 damage instead.


Marvel Dice Masters FAQ – 9/22/2014:
Q: If a card effect is triggered multiple times by the same game effect, does the card effect happen multiple times as a result?
No, just once. For example, let’s look at the Force Beam BAC and Hulk: Jade Giant.
Suppose the following situation: Player A has a Force Beam Basic Action Die in their Reserve Pool on its double burst Action Face. Player B has a Hulk die in their Field Zone on its Level 3face. Player A activates their Force Beam, which deals 1 damage to each player and 2 damage to each character. Player A and Player B will both be dealt 1 damage and all characters in both players’ Field Zones will be dealt 2 damage. As Player B will take damage and Player B’s Hulk will take damage, Hulk’s card effect of “While Hulk is active, when either you or Hulk takes damage, knock out one of your opponent’s level 1 characters” will trigger and Hulk will be able to knock out one of Player A’s level 1 characters (that were still in Field after being dealt 2 damage from the Force Beam). Hulk’s effect will only trigger once regardless of how many times the requirement for his effect is met. If any other source would then deal damage to Hulk’s controller or Hulk (like a second Force Beam were to be played), Hulk’s ability would trigger again.


If you have further questions on this topic after reviewing this post, please ask questions in a new thread and feel free to refer back to this post.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
Last edited by dmrulesteam on Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Quote box problem fixed
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests