Question about Parallax Global and spent energy

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Question about Parallax Global and spent energy

Postby pk2317 » Thu Dec 03, 2015 12:28 pm

Hello!

The Global Ability that is found on the Common Parallax: Source of Terror and the Super Rare Parallax: Fear (Errata'd here) reads as follows:

Global:Pay (1). Reroll any number of your dice before your Attack Step.


If I have a double-energy symbol die, and I partially use its energy to pay for the Global Ability (spinning it down to its single-energy side), can I then re-roll that die itself? Can I re-roll it with a second use of the Global (paid for with a different die)?

The Marvel Dice Masters: Uncanny X-Men and Dungeons & Dragons Dice Masters: Battle for Faerûn rulebooks were very explicit that this would not be allowed:

Rerolling Dice
When you reroll a die, it stays in the same area it was in unless (a) otherwise specified by the card text for the resulting face, or (b) it’s in a location that the die face cannot be (for example, an energy result in the field). If the die face cannot be in the specified location and its fate is not specified in the card text, move the die to the reserve pool.
You cannot reroll a die if you have already partially spent its energy.

TOURNAMENT RULES
Once you’ve mastered the basics, this section provides details and additional rules. Since the base game’s original release, three rules have been revised as of July 2014. (1) If you run out of dice, you do not take damage; instead you lose life. (2) If you partially spend a die with two energy, you cannot reroll it. (3) Dice that enter your used pile after being used (e.g., action dice that you used) cannot subsequently go to your bag that same turn.


However, the tournament rules make references to the latest Dice Masters Rulebook. The most recent four rulebooks have not included this text. Is this rule still in effect, or not?

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer questions!
User avatar
pk2317
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:11 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Question about Parallax Global and spent energy

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Dec 03, 2015 2:38 pm

pk2317 wrote:Hello!

The Global Ability that is found on the Common Parallax: Source of Terror and the Super Rare Parallax: Fear (Errata'd here) reads as follows:

Global:Pay (1). Reroll any number of your dice before your Attack Step.


If I have a double-energy symbol die, and I partially use its energy to pay for the Global Ability (spinning it down to its single-energy side), can I then re-roll that die itself? Can I re-roll it with a second use of the Global (paid for with a different die)?

The Marvel Dice Masters: Uncanny X-Men and Dungeons & Dragons Dice Masters: Battle for Faerûn rulebooks were very explicit that this would not be allowed:

Rerolling Dice
When you reroll a die, it stays in the same area it was in unless (a) otherwise specified by the card text for the resulting face, or (b) it’s in a location that the die face cannot be (for example, an energy result in the field). If the die face cannot be in the specified location and its fate is not specified in the card text, move the die to the reserve pool.
You cannot reroll a die if you have already partially spent its energy.

TOURNAMENT RULES
Once you’ve mastered the basics, this section provides details and additional rules. Since the base game’s original release, three rules have been revised as of July 2014. (1) If you run out of dice, you do not take damage; instead you lose life. (2) If you partially spend a die with two energy, you cannot reroll it. (3) Dice that enter your used pile after being used (e.g., action dice that you used) cannot subsequently go to your bag that same turn.


However, the tournament rules make references to the latest Dice Masters Rulebook. The most recent four rulebooks have not included this text. Is this rule still in effect, or not?

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer questions!


You still may not reroll partially spent energy. This will be included in future rulebooks.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php