Page 1 of 1

Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity timing

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:06 pm
by pk2317
Could you please clarify the intended timing for this ability?

Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity (FUS #112) wrote:When Displacer Beast attacks, you can swap it with another attacker after all blockers are declared (before damage is dealt).


According to the most recent rulebook, the timing for the attack step is as follows:

Attack Step
  1. Select attackers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to attacking.
  2. Assign blockers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to blocking.
  3. Use action dice. Place them Out of Play when finished.
  4. Both players can use Global Abilities.
  5. Assign and resolve damage. Resolve effects that occur due to damage or KO.

Is this ability intended to take place during the Step 2b timing window (immediately after Blockers are assigned), or can it take place anytime after step 2 (but prior to step 5, according to the parenthetical text)?

Re: Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity timing

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:50 pm
by dmrulesteam
pk2317 wrote:Could you please clarify the intended timing for this ability?

Displacer Beast: Paragon Monstrosity (FUS #112) wrote:When Displacer Beast attacks, you can swap it with another attacker after all blockers are declared (before damage is dealt).


According to the most recent rulebook, the timing for the attack step is as follows:

Attack Step
  1. Select attackers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to attacking.
  2. Assign blockers.
    • Resolve effects that occur due to blocking.
  3. Use action dice. Place them Out of Play when finished.
  4. Both players can use Global Abilities.
  5. Assign and resolve damage. Resolve effects that occur due to damage or KO.

Is this ability intended to take place during the Step 2b timing window (immediately after Blockers are assigned), or can it take place anytime after step 2 (but prior to step 5, according to the parenthetical text)?


After all blockers are declared, you would have the opportunity to use Displacer Beast's effect. If you move past that, you would not be able to use the monstrosity's ability.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team