[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 279: array_column() expects parameter 1 to be array, object given
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 280: array_multisort(): Argument #1 is expected to be an array or a sort flag
Wizkids Rules! • View topic - Arturis (6) Captain Ability
Page 1 of 1

Arturis (6) Captain Ability

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:01 pm
by foehammer
Arturis (6) from the Motley Fleet Faction Pack states "Select a Captain Card with a printed cost of 4 SP or less. Arturis has the ability of that Captain Card this game." It is not clear whether or not the selected captain card has to be present during the game, or if any captain card in the game can be selected without the card being present.

1. Does Arturis' selected Captain Card have to be part of the game, either in your fleet or your opponent's fleet? I.e. is the ability meant to copy an in-play captain.
2. Does a copy of the selected captain card have to be present? I.e. is the ability meant to give anyone access to any captain in the game, regardless of whether the own the card or not.

Re: Arturis (6) Captain Ability

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 10:36 am
by stawrulesteam
The selected Captain Card does not have to be present in the current game.

For the purposes of tournament play, the card would need to be physically present and denoted on your fleet sheet prior to the tournament beginning.

Re: Arturis (6) Captain Ability

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 11:46 am
by tsuyoshikentsu
stawrulesteam wrote:The selected Captain Card does not have to be present in the current game.

I am playing with a fleet that includes this version of Arturis and Jean-Luc Picard from the 2017 Starter Set.

Can Arturis duplicate the ability of a second copy Jean-Luc Picard from the 2017 Starter Set? If not, can it copy the ability of Jean-Luc Picard from the Enterprise-E?

Re: Arturis (6) Captain Ability

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 1:16 pm
by stawrulesteam
That Jean-Luc Picard doesn't have a printed SP cost of 4 or less so Arturis cannot copy him at all.

Generally, Arturis can copy the ability of ANY Captain card with a printed SP cost 4 or less. It doesn't matter if the Captain is already present in the game or not.