Page 1 of 1
Wave 0 - USS Enterprise - Mr Spock

Posted:
Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:15 pm
by whitehorn
Officer cards are attached to a crewman. They add their ability to that crewman.
Does this "addition" combine the two abilities into one, or are they two separate, trigger-able abilities?
If you stuck Science Officer on Mr. Spock, we have an example of a card that uses a scan token in two different ways. The core rules state only one card can make use of one token, so does Science Officer Spock become limited to choosing one of his abilities, or can he do them all off one token?
Finally, does Science Officer allow you to use multiple scan tokens at once, causing them all to modifier the enemy defence dice by -2 each?
Re: Officer cards / Mr Spock

Posted:
Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:24 am
by stawrulesteam
They are separately triggering abilities. One Scan token can be used by one upgrade to trigger one ability.
The wording in the rulebook on page 22 is specific to one upgrade and uses the word ‘ability’ in the singular sense in reference to a token beside the ship. To quote directly:
“Only one Upgrade Card on each ship can trigger its ability from the same token during the same round.”
In the cases where a card has multiple abilities that could trigger you get to choose which one has an effect for each given token.
The Science Officer resource card adds two separate abilities that trigger from the presence of a Scan token beside the ship. Spock’s own ability triggers from a Scan token. To be able to use all 3 in a given turn you would need to have 3 Scan tokens beside your ship.
No. That ability on the Science Officer only checks for ‘a’ scan token, not ‘for each’ scan token. And it may only modify one token.
Re: Officer cards / Mr Spock

Posted:
Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:19 am
by alphacryomessenger
The ability of the I.K.S. B'Moth states: "You can perform a Red Maneuver while there is an Auxiliary Power Token beside your ship."
Does this mean, you cannot perform a Red Maneuver, without penalty, while there is two or more Auxiliary Power Tokens beside your ship?
Re: Officer cards / Mr Spock

Posted:
Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:15 pm
by stawrulesteam
alphacryomessenger wrote:The ability of the I.K.S. B'Moth states: "You can perform a Red Maneuver while there is an Auxiliary Power Token beside your ship."
Does this mean, you cannot perform a Red Maneuver, without penalty, while there is two or more Auxiliary Power Tokens beside your ship?
No, the IKS B'Moth checks to see if a token is present. It does not matter how many. It may perform a Red Maneuver if there is 1 or more Auxiliary Tokens.