Page 1 of 1

Wave 5 - TACTICAL CUBE 138 - Borg Ablative Hull Armor

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 5:13 pm
by charlesskrobis
"When defending, convert all crit results into hit results and place all damage that your ship would receive beneath this card. Once there are 4 damage cards beneath this card, discard this upgrade and all damage beneath it. All Excess damage affects the ship as normal."

So it converts all crits to hits when defending. But the standard ruling is that attacker modifies dice before the defender. So I would roll the attack dice and then they would convert the crits to hits, and then I could use target lock to re-roll, convert a hit to crit with toreth, photon torpedoes battle stations to crit, etc.

Can they convert the crits to hits again after I've converted the attacking dice, to be immune to crits, or will they be able to take crits to the Hull.

Re: Borg Ablative Hull Armor Vs Crits

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:05 pm
by stawrulesteam
The standard rule is that defenders modify attack dice before attackers. This is outlined on pages 12 and 13 of the Rulebook.

In the case of the Borg Ablative Hull Armor, the attacker rolls their dice and the defender may modify the [crits] into [hits], the attacker then may modify their dice; so Toreth may convert a [hit] to a [crit]. The Hull Armor places the [crit] damage card beneath it. The damage card still resolves its effect even though it is placed beneath the upgrade card. Ongoing effects against the ship (like Stunned Helmsman) do not have any effect due to being on the card rather than the ship. But immediate effects (like Direct Hit!) do occur.

Critical Damage Cards w/ Immediate Effects:
Direct Hit!
Power Disruption
Munitions Failure
Minor Explosion

When the Hull Armor card is discarded after taking 4 damage any [crit]s beneath it are discarded as well.

Re: Borg Ablative Hull Armor Vs Crits

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:53 pm
by paynej
If the player was to pull two Direct Hits, that would be 4 points of damage traditionally, but since they are under the Ablative armor would that destroy the Armor upgrade and the next critical hit go against the hull?

Re: Borg Ablative Hull Armor Vs Crits

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:56 pm
by stawrulesteam
paynej wrote:If the player was to pull two Direct Hits, that would be 4 points of damage traditionally, but since they are under the Ablative armor would that destroy the Armor upgrade and the next critical hit go against the hull?


Correct

Borg Sheild Matrix with Borg Ablative Hull Armor

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 12:01 am
by joestealth
When a damage card is placed under Borg Ablative Hull Armor card does this count as damage to your hull for the purposes of Borg Shield matrix?

Re: Borg Sheild Matrix with Borg Ablative Hull Armor

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 12:35 pm
by stawrulesteam
joestealth wrote:When a damage card is placed under Borg Ablative Hull Armor card does this count as damage to your hull for the purposes of Borg Shield matrix?


No, when damage cards are placed they first go under the Borg Ablative Hull Armor before and instead of hitting the hull.

Borg Sheild Matrix will only gain a token from an attack that damages the Shields or Hull.