Page 1 of 1

General - Range vs Arc

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 4:17 pm
by deltaangelfire
Based on the previous Charles Tucker ruling ("Crew Charles Tucker III- Cannot use his action if an opponent is within range 3 of a ship with a 360 degree firing arc.") Do the following now work?

Soong - After performing a 5 [forward] Maneuver, if there are no enemy ships in your forward firing arc, you may perform an [evade] Action as a free Action.
Can the Soong take this bonus evade if there are enemy ships in it's forward arc, but they are all beyond range 3?

Fighters + Barrage of Fire
Can the fighters resource (which only fires at range 1-2) assist in a Barrage of Fire attack where the target is at range 3 or greater?

Re: Range vs Arc

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:13 am
by stawrulesteam
Yes the Soong Type ship can take its action if there are enemy ships in its forward arc, but they are all beyond range 3.

The Barrage of Fire has a Range of 1-2, so it can’t be used when either of the ships are at Range 3.

Re: Range vs Arc

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:45 pm
by deltaangelfire
If the initiating ship is at range 2, is it possible for the assisting fighters to be at range 1 from the initiator but range 3 from the target?

Re: Range vs Arc

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:41 pm
by stawrulesteam
deltaangelfire wrote:If the initiating ship is at range 2, is it possible for the assisting fighters to be at range 1 from the initiator but range 3 from the target?


No, for two reasons.

Both ships (attacker and assisting) must be within range 2 of the target ship.

The fighters may not attack at range 3.