General - Multiple Scan Tokens

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

General - Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby thecosm0naught » Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:49 pm

If a player has multiple scans beside their ship (via janeway, romulan pilot, etc.) during the roll defense dice step does the defender roll -1 defense for each scan token beside the attacker's ship or do you simply check if the attacker has a scan token?

Relative text:"if the attacker has a [scan] token beside his ship, the defender rolls 1 less defense die." Rulebook pg. 14
User avatar
thecosm0naught
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:09 am

Re: Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby stawrulesteam » Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:56 pm

15. If an attacking ship has somehow managed to acquire multiple Scan Tokens (e.g. Romulan Pilot, Captain Janeway), does the defender roll 1 less defense die for each Scan Token?
Yes.


As stated in the FAQ, you roll 1 less defense die for each scan token present on the attacking ship.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby mugatoj » Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:18 pm

Science Officer: Each time you attack, if there is a scan token beside your ship, the defender rolls -2 defense dice instead of -1.


Does this mean that two scan tokens would be -4 defense die or -3 (2 for 1 and 1 for the second)?
mugatoj
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:46 pm

Re: Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:48 am

The Science Officer will only 'double' the effect of one scan token. An upgrade can only activate an ability from one scan token per turn and a scan token can only be used to trigger one upgrade ability per turn. So two scan tokens and a Science Officer will result in 3 less defense dice if you choose to use the first ability on the Science Officer with at least one of your scan tokens.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby ccummings » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:02 pm

stawrulesteam wrote:An upgrade can only activate an ability from one scan token per turn and a scan token can only be used to trigger one upgrade ability per turn.


I understand that a token can only trigger the use of one upgrade. For example a scan token can trigger Mr. Spock or Dmitri Valtane but not both of them off the same scan token.

When you say a token can only be used to trigger one upgrade ability per turn, does that mean if a card has multiple abilities that is has to choose which ability it will trigger off a token.

Ex. If Mr. Spock has both First officer and Science officer attached. Do you have to choose to use Mr. Spocks regular aability of if a scan is presence change battlestations to hits, or the science officer ability of -2 defense dice for the presence of a scan?
ccummings
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby esquireflyer » Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:23 pm

Is a ship's built-in ability (such as the Borg Queen Vessel Prime's ability, "During the Roll Attack Dice Step of the Combat Phase, your ship, or 1 friendly ship within Range 1-2 of your ship, may spend a Scan Token from beside this ship to gain +1 attack die.") subject to the same limitation that upgrades are, i.e., only one ability can be triggered by each token, even though a ship's ability is not an "upgrade"?

For example, if Mr. Spock has already used a scan token (without spending it) to convert battlestations to hits when the Queen Vessel Prime attacks, can a friendly ship within range 1-2 (attacking after the Queen Vessel) still use the Queen Vessel's built-in special ability to spend the scan token to gain +1 attack die?
esquireflyer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:41 am

ccummings wrote:
stawrulesteam wrote:An upgrade can only activate an ability from one scan token per turn and a scan token can only be used to trigger one upgrade ability per turn.


I understand that a token can only trigger the use of one upgrade. For example a scan token can trigger Mr. Spock or Dmitri Valtane but not both of them off the same scan token.

When you say a token can only be used to trigger one upgrade ability per turn, does that mean if a card has multiple abilities that is has to choose which ability it will trigger off a token.

Ex. If Mr. Spock has both First officer and Science officer attached. Do you have to choose to use Mr. Spocks regular aability of if a scan is presence change battlestations to hits, or the science officer ability of -2 defense dice for the presence of a scan?




Mr. Spock
If your ship has a (Scan) Token beside it when you attack, you may convert all your (Battle Stations) results into (Hit) results.

First Officer
"Whenever you perform a (battlestation), (scan), or (evade) action, you may place 2 tokens of the appropriate type beside your ship instead of 1. If you do so, place an Auxiliary Power Token beside your ship.

If you Captain's Skill is ever reduced below 4, you may use the Skill Number on this card instead of you Captain's Skill Number"

Science Officer
"Add 1 (Tech) Upgrade slot to you Upgrade Bar.

Each time you attack, if there is a (scan) Token beside your ship, the defender rolls -2 defense dice instead of -1.

During the Modify Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, you may spend a (scan) Token to add 1 (evade) result to your roll."


Yes, each card may only trigger one ability off of it's card per round.

In your example Mr. Spock with First Officer and Science Officer. Mr. Spock has 5 abilities due to the additions from each resource card. Mr. Spock's text is optional and may only be activated once per round. First Officer has 2 abilities 1 continuous and 1 optional. The continuous one is always available. Science Officer adds 2 more abilities 1 that uses the phrase "each time you attack" which is continuous once activated and 1 that is optional. Mr. Spock may only activate 1 optional ability per round.

Please quote game text in your posts. We will be disproving all posts that do not quote card's game text.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Multiple Scan Tokens

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:46 am

esquireflyer wrote:Is a ship's built-in ability (such as the Borg Queen Vessel Prime's ability, "During the Roll Attack Dice Step of the Combat Phase, your ship, or 1 friendly ship within Range 1-2 of your ship, may spend a Scan Token from beside this ship to gain +1 attack die.") subject to the same limitation that upgrades are, i.e., only one ability can be triggered by each token, even though a ship's ability is not an "upgrade"?

For example, if Mr. Spock has already used a scan token (without spending it) to convert battlestations to hits when the Queen Vessel Prime attacks, can a friendly ship within range 1-2 (attacking after the Queen Vessel) still use the Queen Vessel's built-in special ability to spend the scan token to gain +1 attack die?


Ship Cards are subject to the same rules as all other cards. The Borg Queen Vessel Prime's ability may only be activated "once per round per ship per card". 1 time in a round by each ship that could activate the card.

Each token may only activate 1 upgrade per turn. The ship is not an upgrade and the text on the Borg Queen Vessel Prime could be activated off the same token as Mr. Spock.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

cron
Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php