Wave 9 - SCIMITAR - Shinzon - Elite Talents

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Star Trek Mods

Wave 9 - SCIMITAR - Shinzon - Elite Talents

Postby jase » Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:05 pm

The ability for Shinzon states:-

"During the Gather Forces step of Setup, instead of purchasing an ELITE TALENT upgrade as normal for Shinzon, you may spend 4 SP to place 4 Romulan ELITE TALENT upgrades face down beside this card. These cards remain face down until you decide to use one of them. When you do so, select the one you want to use and turn it face up for the rest of the game. Then discard the other 3."

1) Can Shinzon take ANY Romulan ET upgrade regardless of price? I.E. he has the option to use any one of 4 x 5 SP ETs for only 4 SP?
2) Can Shinzon take a Unique ET that has already been selected for another Captain in your fleet as it has not been purchased until its is revealed? If so, if either captain uses that unique ET what happens to the other copy?
3) If Shinzon is given a Independent Fleet Captain Resource that grants an ET upgrade, or also makes an existing one free, does this mean the 4 SP is ignored and he has the option to use any one of his four ETs for free?
jase
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:52 am

Re: Shinzon Elite Talents

Postby stawrulesteam » Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:45 pm

jase wrote:The ability for Shinzon states:-

"During the Gather Forces step of Setup, instead of purchasing an ELITE TALENT upgrade as normal for Shinzon, you may spend 4 SP to place 4 Romulan ELITE TALENT upgrades face down beside this card. These cards remain face down until you decide to use one of them. When you do so, select the one you want to use and turn it face up for the rest of the game. Then discard the other 3."

1) Can Shinzon take ANY Romulan ET upgrade regardless of price? I.E. he has the option to use any one of 4 x 5 SP ETs for only 4 SP?
2) Can Shinzon take a Unique ET that has already been selected for another Captain in your fleet as it has not been purchased until its is revealed? If so, if either captain uses that unique ET what happens to the other copy?
3) If Shinzon is given a Independent Fleet Captain Resource that grants an ET upgrade, or also makes an existing one free, does this mean the 4 SP is ignored and he has the option to use any one of his four ETs for free?


1. Yes.
2. No.
3. You follow the text on his card for the 4 facedown elite talent, their quantity cannot be increased. Any additional Elite Talent slots on his ship will function as normal.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Shinzon Elite Talents

Postby arken42 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 6:43 pm

How do these four Elite Talents work in relationship to the rulings with James T. Kirk and his [ET] ability?

1. Are they still assigned to the ship Shinzon is placed on or are they attached to Shinzon in someway?

2. Are they able to be affected by abilities while face down? (Jennifer Sisko)

3. If Shinzon is disabled, discarded or moved to another ship before they are revealed, can you use the talents with another captain who has an [ET] slot?
arken42
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:45 pm

Re: Shinzon Elite Talents

Postby kokuryu » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:57 am

With a fleet captain that adds a talent slot, can I instead choose to make shinzons talents free, getting his 4 facedown talents for 0 points?
kokuryu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:56 am

Re: Shinzon Elite Talents

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:37 pm

arken42 wrote:How do these four Elite Talents work in relationship to the rulings with James T. Kirk and his [ET] ability?

1. Are they still assigned to the ship Shinzon is placed on or are they attached to Shinzon in someway?

2. Are they able to be affected by abilities while face down? (Jennifer Sisko)

3. If Shinzon is disabled, discarded or moved to another ship before they are revealed, can you use the talents with another captain who has an [ET] slot?


1. The 4 Elite Talents are provided by Shinzon's card text. They are not assigned to the ship, but will follow Shinzon.

2. You cannot effect facedown cards.

3. The elite Talents are provided by Shinzon's card text. If Shinzon is disabled the text allowing the cards to be flipped is no longer available and they must remain face down until Shinzon is enabled. If Shinzon is discarded the cards would be discarded as well due to being placed "beside this card". If Shinzon was moved to another ship the cards would follow him.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Shinzon Elite Talents

Postby stawrulesteam » Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:38 pm

kokuryu wrote:With a fleet captain that adds a talent slot, can I instead choose to make shinzons talents free, getting his 4 facedown talents for 0 points?


No, The Fleet Captain would only change the price of a normal Talent deployed to Shinzon. The Fleet Captain does not change Shinzon's text.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Shinzon Elite Talents

Postby arken42 » Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:05 pm

Since Shinzons talents move with him.

A) If Shinzon is moved to a ship that has an Elite Talent upgrade already assigned (Granted by a previous captain or Flagship). Can he still activate one of the four Elite Talents assigned to him?

B) Would he also be able to use the Elite Talent already assigned to that ship?
arken42
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:45 pm

Re: Shinzon Elite Talents

Postby stawrulesteam » Mon Dec 08, 2014 1:05 pm

arken42 wrote:Since Shinzons talents move with him.

A) If Shinzon is moved to a ship that has an Elite Talent upgrade already assigned (Granted by a previous captain or Flagship). Can he still activate one of the four Elite Talents assigned to him?

B) Would he also be able to use the Elite Talent already assigned to that ship?


A - Yes, the Elite Talents follow him and are provided by his card text.
B - No, the Elite Telents on his card are "purchased instead of an [elite talent] upgrade" and Shinzon may not use Elite Talents assigned to ships if using his card text.
User avatar
stawrulesteam
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Star Trek: Attack Wing Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

cron
Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php