General - Other Actions

In the rule book on Pg. 12 there is a sec. Other Action which reads:
Card abilities without the "Action:" header may be resolved when specified on the card and do not count as the ships Action. However, a ship cannot perform the same Action more than once during a single game round (not even when the action is a "free Action").
Does this mean that cards like Varel or other cards with triggers were only ever meant to be used once per round unless otherwise stated on the card?
Card abilities without the "Action:" header may be resolved when specified on the card and do not count as the ships Action. However, a ship cannot perform the same Action more than once during a single game round (not even when the action is a "free Action").
Does this mean that cards like Varel or other cards with triggers were only ever meant to be used once per round unless otherwise stated on the card?