Does squad leader work the same way as Admriral Borg Queen, since their texts are nearly identical?
FAQ:
2.When the Wave 8 Admiral Borg Queen uses her fleet Action, she targets another ship. That ship then uses an Upgrade as a free Action. The Action being used as a free Action must pay the cost stated on the card. And no ship may perform the same Action twice (Pg12 of the Manual) in a single round,
Squad Leader:
"Action: Target a friendly ship at Range 1-2 and perform the action listed on its captain card as a free action (if possible)."
Borg Queen:
"Action: Target a friendly ship at Range 1-2. Choose 1 Upgrade on that ship and perform that Upgrade's Action as a free Action this round. If that Action requires spending Drone Tokens, spend 1 less Drone Token than required."