Page 1 of 1

Fleet Captain and Admiral/Captain Forrest Interaction

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:55 pm
by mitchella35
I'd like a clarification on Fleet Captain abilities and Admiral Forrest.

The Federation Independent Fleet Captain ability text reads:

After you move, you may target 1 friendly ship within range 1-2 (or your own ship). The target ship immediately performs an additional white "1" Maneuver (forward, bank or turn)


Admiral or Captain Forrest has the following:

[Fleet]Action: Perform an additional 1 Maneuver (straight, bank or turn)


Can these two be used by the same ship in the same turn to perform their normal maneuver plus 2 additional maneuvers? The Fleet Captain doesn't specifically state that it's an action, but it reads as if you are granting a free maneuver action to the ship, in which case the Forrests Fleet Action or Captain Action wouldn't be allowed as you are doing the same action twice in the round. All of the other in-game abilities on the fleet captains specify that they are free actions, this is the only one that doesn't. Could you please clarify?

Dominion War - Month 4 - Flagship Resource

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:13 pm
by seijitataki
Given the new ruling for only being able to take the effects of a "may" effect once per turn, how does this effect Flagships such as the Federation, Klingon, or Romulan?

Federation: When defending, all other friendly Federation ships within Range 1-2 of your Flagship may choose any number of their defense dice and re-roll them once.


Romulan: When attacking, all other friendly Romulan ships within Range 1-2 of your Flagship may choose any number of their attack dice and re-roll them once.


Klingon: When attacking, all other friendly Klingon ships within Range 1-2 of your Flagship may convert 1 blank result into 1 hit result.


Does the new ruling for 'may' effects mean that you only get to use this effect on the first ship to do so, or does it make it such that each ship may only use this ability the first time they attack or defend a turn, or is this treated similarly to other 'each time' effects and allowing all ships to do it each time they attack/defend?

Re: Dominion War - Month 4 - Flagship Resource

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 1:03 pm
by stawrulesteam
seijitataki wrote:Given the new ruling for only being able to take the effects of a "may" effect once per turn, how does this effect Flagships such as the Federation, Klingon, or Romulan?

Federation: When defending, all other friendly Federation ships within Range 1-2 of your Flagship may choose any number of their defense dice and re-roll them once.


Romulan: When attacking, all other friendly Romulan ships within Range 1-2 of your Flagship may choose any number of their attack dice and re-roll them once.


Klingon: When attacking, all other friendly Klingon ships within Range 1-2 of your Flagship may convert 1 blank result into 1 hit result.


Does the new ruling for 'may' effects mean that you only get to use this effect on the first ship to do so, or does it make it such that each ship may only use this ability the first time they attack or defend a turn, or is this treated similarly to other 'each time' effects and allowing all ships to do it each time they attack/defend?


As stated in the FAQ:

29. All cards that contain non-ACTION text abilities that are optionally triggered by a player may only be used once per round per ship per card.


Abilities may be used once per round by each ship affected per card on the map.

Re: Fleet Captain and Admiral/Captain Forrest Interaction

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:08 pm
by stawrulesteam
mitchella35 wrote:I'd like a clarification on Fleet Captain abilities and Admiral Forrest.

The Federation Independent Fleet Captain ability text reads:

After you move, you may target 1 friendly ship within range 1-2 (or your own ship). The target ship immediately performs an additional white "1" Maneuver (forward, bank or turn)


Admiral or Captain Forrest has the following:

[Fleet]Action: Perform an additional 1 Maneuver (straight, bank or turn)


Can these two be used by the same ship in the same turn to perform their normal maneuver plus 2 additional maneuvers? The Fleet Captain doesn't specifically state that it's an action, but it reads as if you are granting a free maneuver action to the ship, in which case the Forrests Fleet Action or Captain Action wouldn't be allowed as you are doing the same action twice in the round. All of the other in-game abilities on the fleet captains specify that they are free actions, this is the only one that doesn't. Could you please clarify?


Yes, both of these cards could be used in the same turn by one ship.

1. Admiral Forest and the Flagship do not have the same text.
2. The Admiral's card text is an action and the Fleet Captain is not an action

Re: Dominion War - Month 4 - Flagship Resource

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:54 pm
by scorpead
Independent Dominion Flagship card:
After your Flagship moves, you may target 1 other friendly ship within range 1 of your Flagship. The target ship immediately performs an extra white or green Maneuver.


Since this card says 'extra' may the target ship be given the extra movement before it takes it's own movement?

Re: Dominion War - Month 4 - Flagship Resource

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 12:41 pm
by stawrulesteam
scorpead wrote:Independent Dominion Flagship card:
After your Flagship moves, you may target 1 other friendly ship within range 1 of your Flagship. The target ship immediately performs an extra white or green Maneuver.


Since this card says 'extra' may the target ship be given the extra movement before it takes it's own movement?


Yes. The targeted ship may perform the movement from the Flagship card either before or after it's own movement in the round.

Re: Dominion War - Month 4 - Flagship Resource

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:38 am
by rickyrob
stawrulesteam wrote:
scorpead wrote:Independent Dominion Flagship card:
After your Flagship moves, you may target 1 other friendly ship within range 1 of your Flagship. The target ship immediately performs an extra white or green Maneuver.


Since this card says 'extra' may the target ship be given the extra movement before it takes it's own movement?


Yes. The targeted ship may perform the movement from the Flagship card either before or after it's own movement in the round.


Does the extra movement have to be on your ships dial?

Re: Dominion War - Month 4 - Flagship Resource

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:02 pm
by stawrulesteam
Does the extra movement have to be on your ships dial?


Yes, the maneuver must be on the targeted ship’s dial.