[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 279: array_column() expects parameter 1 to be array, object given
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 280: array_multisort(): Argument #1 is expected to be an array or a sort flag
Wizkids Rules! • View topic - General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction
Page 1 of 1

General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:07 pm
by seijitataki
It was previously ruled that 1 token could only be used to activate the effect of 1 Upgrade. How does this interact with Captains, now that there is a token that both Captains and Upgrade can potentially trigger off of?

"(Captain) Tomalak: When attacking with your Pimrary Weapon, if there is a Scan Token beside your ship, during the Modify Attack Dice step, you may re-roll all of your blank results once."
"(Crew) Mr. Spock: If your ship has a Scan Token beside it when you attack, you may convert all of your Battlestation results into Hit results."

As Captains are not Upgrades, does this mean that you can trigger both Tomalak and Spock on a single Scan token, similarly to how you would otherwise be able to use both a ship effect and a single Upgrade effect off a single token?

Re: General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:59 am
by stawrulesteam
seijitataki wrote:It was previously ruled that 1 token could only be used to activate the effect of 1 Upgrade. How does this interact with Captains, now that there is a token that both Captains and Upgrade can potentially trigger off of?

"(Captain) Tomalak: When attacking with your Pimrary Weapon, if there is a Scan Token beside your ship, during the Modify Attack Dice step, you may re-roll all of your blank results once."
"(Crew) Mr. Spock: If your ship has a Scan Token beside it when you attack, you may convert all of your Battlestation results into Hit results."

As Captains are not Upgrades, does this mean that you can trigger both Tomalak and Spock on a single Scan token, similarly to how you would otherwise be able to use both a ship effect and a single Upgrade effect off a single token?


1 token could only be used to activate the effect of 1 Upgrade. Captains and Ships are not Upgrades and may activate their game text from the same token as an upgrade.

Re: General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:49 pm
by mrgoofball
Hi! We need clarification on this rule. This ruling says Captains and Ships are not upgrades so they can use the same scan action, but the 5/31/16 Tournament Rules state "38: A token may only activate a single ability off of a single card per round. But the new rulebook confirms the ruling above. So which is it?

Re: General - Captain/Upgrade Token Interaction

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 10:51 am
by stawrulesteam
We are amending this so that one token can only be used for one effect each round. This would include captains, ships, upgrades, etc.