New Rules - General Clarifications

Moderator: HeroClix Mods

New Rules - General Clarifications

Postby hcrulesteam » Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:34 pm

Provided below are some general clarifications to help clarify how older wording will interact with the new rules. If any game element wording does not easily interact with these clarifications, then they will receive their own individual errata.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: New Rules - General Clarifications

Postby hcrulesteam » Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:46 pm

References to "move actions", "close combat actions", "range combat actions", "free actions", "power actions", and "double power actions" are now "MOVE actions", "CLOSE actions", "RANGE actions", "FREE actions", "POWER actions", and "DOUBLE POWER actions", respectively.

- This clarification is to ensure that older powers work as intended with new templating.
For example, the Avengers team ability now says: “When this character is given a MOVE action, modify speed +1.”
- So the Avengers team ability (for example) will still interact with an ability that is printed as:
“When this character is given a non-free move action it isn't given an action token for that action.”


References to “Give [character] a [TYPE] action to” and similar are now “MOVE:”, “CLOSE:”, “RANGE:”, “FREE:”, “POWER:”, “DOUBLE POWER:”, respectively.

- This clarification is to ensure that older powers work as intended with new templating.
For example, Charge now says: “Can’t be knocked back. POWER: Halve speed. Move, then CLOSE: at no cost.”
- So Charge giving a character a CLOSE: will still interact with an ability is printed as:
“Give this character a close action to make up to three close attacks.”


Any reference to "after actions resolve" and similar are now "after resolutions".

- This is a clarification to make sure that there isn’t a difference between “after actions resolve” and “after resolutions”. We want to make it clear that those timing windows are the same. There’s no difference between them, including in timing.
- The reason for this change is that triggered effects also resolve and can contain attacks, but previously couldn’t trigger “after actions resolve” effects. All effects that resolve can now trigger “after resolutions”.


Any reference to “after actions resolve, [character] can use [STANDARD POWER] as a free action” are now “after resolutions, [character] can use [STANDARD POWER] at no cost”

- This is a clarification to make sure that the uses of “as a free action” that occur during “after resolutions” become “at no cost”, to separate it from other uses of the phrase “as a free action”.


Any reference to “at the beginning of your turn, [character] can use [STANDARD POWER] as a free action” or similar are now “at the beginning of your turn, [character] can use [STANDARD POWER] at no cost”

- This is a clarification to make sure that the uses of “as a free action” that occur during “at the beginning of your turn” become “at no cost”, to separate it from other uses of the phrase “as a free action”.
- As you can no longer be given FREE actions during the beginning of turn phase, this is required to make those effects continue to work.


Any reference to “[ACTION TYPE]: … [character] can use [STANDARD POWER] as a free action…” or similar are now [ACTION TYPE]: … [character] can use [STANDARD POWER] at no cost…”

- This is a clarification to make sure that the uses of “as a free action” that occur during another action become “at no cost”, to separate it from other uses of the phrase “as a free action”.


Any reference to “[combat value(s)] can’t be decreased” are now “[combat value(s)] can’t be negatively modified”. Any reference to “[combat value(s)] can’t be increased” are now “[combat value(s)] can’t be positively modified”.

- This clarification removes the use of “increase” or “decrease” with modifiers. Those words may apply to values other than combat values, but combat values always use “modify”.


Any reference to “the Carry ability” (that doesn’t further discuss the number of characters carried) are now “ ;Passenger; :1”.

- This clarification consolidates the use of the previous Carry ability into the Passenger symbol.


Any reference to "This (power) can't be countered" is now considered to say "Protected: Outwit". Any reference to “(Character’s) powers [and abilities] can’t be countered” is now considered to say “(Character) has PROTECTED: Outwit”.

-The new rulebook moves away from some older terms to clarify the language of HeroClix. One such term is “counter/countered.” This wording was previously part of the Outwit power, but with the new wording of Outwit, the character simply “can’t use” a standard or special power. Therefore, the older language needs to be updated to avoid confusion in how the older powers work.

NOTE: There is a still a difference between “Protected: Outwit” (initial capital letter) and “This character has PROTECTED: Outwit” (all capital letters). “Protected: Outwit” appears at the end of a special power or trait, and means that power or trait (and any standard powers it grants) can’t be chosen for Outwit. “This character has PROTECTED: Outwit” means that none of the character’s standard and special powers can be chosen for Outwit.


Any reference to "This (power/ability) can't be ignored" is now considered to say "Protected: Pulse Wave". Any reference to “(Character’s) powers [and abilities] can’t be ignored” is now considered to say “(Character) has PROTECTED: Pulse Wave”.

-Similar to the example above, the older text of the standard power Pulse Wave used “ignore/ignored.” So older powers that said this power/ability can’t be ignored will now say “Protected: Pulse Wave” at the end, which means that power is unaffected by Pulse Wave.

NOTE: There is a still a difference between “Protected: Pulse Wave” (initial capital letter) and “This character has PROTECTED: Pulse Wave” (all capital letters). “Protected: Pulse Wave” appears at the end of a special power or trait, and means that the power or trait can still be used during Pulse Wave. “This character has PROTECTED: Pulse Wave” means that all of the character’s standard powers, special powers, or traits can be used during Pulse Wave (as applicable).


Any reference to "This (power/ability) can't be countered or ignored" is now considered to say "Protected: Outwit, Pulse Wave".

- This is a combination of the above two, just to make sure older powers with this specific wording still work.

NOTE: There is a still a difference between “Protected: Outwit, Pulse Wave” (initial capital letters) and “This character has PROTECTED: Outwit, Pulse Wave” (all capital letters). “Protected: Outwit, Pulse Wave” appears at the end of a special power or trait, and means that the power or trait can’t be chose for Outwit and may be used during Pulse Wave. “This character has PROTECTED: Outwit, Pulse Wave” means that none of the character’s standard or special powers can be chosen by Outwit, and the standard powers, special powers, and traits may be used during Pulse Wave.


All equipment without the updated wording is considered to be Equip (Friendly) and Unequip (KO).

- There are new categories to clarify how Equipment will work going forward, specifically for Equipment-Objects and how they are equipped and KO’d. Some objects previously had text to describe “EQUIP”, and that text is being replaced to standardize how they work. Essentially identical to how it worked before, this new wording helps to clarify how to “equip” the object, and exactly what to do with it when it would be “unequipped”.

Starting in Marvel HeroClix: The Mighty Thor, you will see new Keyphrases that describe how equipment can be Equipped, Unequipped, and sometimes KO’d. The text for the Keyphrases that apply here are listed below for convenience and are on Page 35 of the Core Rulebook with the rest of the variations on these effects.

o Equip: Friendly – “A friendly characters in this square or holding this object has ‘POWER: Equip this object.’”
o Unequip: KO – “When unequipped, KO this object.”


All references to the ;Infinity; symbol are now replaced with the ;A-Infinity; symbol.

- The ;Infinity; (two circles) symbol is being unified with the ;A-Infinity; (two circles and an arrow) symbol. The ;Infinity; symbol was rarely given out, but we are updating any older figures with it so they have the new unified symbol.
- The only gameplay difference is characters with ;A-Infinity; for movement can now move through opposing characters, not just “beside” them like before, and those with ;A-Infinity; for targeting can now target any opposing character within their range and line of fire with a range attack (both symbols regardless of being “based”) , not just adjacent ones.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm


Return to HeroClix Errata & Clarifications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests