Infinite Loops in Dice Masters

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Infinite Loops in Dice Masters

Postby memmek » Fri Dec 28, 2018 12:52 pm

Say, for instance, that I have Ork Nob: Big Choppa and Doctor Doom: Reed Richards' Rival in the field, and I field Ork Boy: Shoota on level 1.

When a character die is KO'd, Ork Nob gets +1A and +2D (until end of turn).


While Doctor Doom is active, each non-Villain character gets -1A and -1D (no matter how many Doctor Doom dice you have fielded).


When Ork Boy is KO'd, if you control a (Orks) character die other than Ork Boy, return Ork Boy to the Field Zone at level 1 (clear all damage from Ork Boy).


This appears to trigger an infinite loop, as Ork Boy is not an optional ability. He would repeatedly receive the -1D from Doctor Doom, be KO'd, then returned to the Field Zone at level 1. This would result in Ork Nob gaining an infinite amount of Attack and Defense.

Does the game end in a tie? What happens in single elimination after a top cut of a tournament?

This "combo" can also manifest with an opposing Valindra Shadowmantle: The Right Hand of Szass Tam.

Energy Drain 2

While Valindra Shadowmantle is active, opposing non-evil character dice get -1A and -1D.
memmek
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:31 pm

Re: Infinite Loops in Dice Masters

Postby dmrulesteam » Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:02 pm

memmek wrote:Say, for instance, that I have Ork Nob: Big Choppa and Doctor Doom: Reed Richards' Rival in the field, and I field Ork Boy: Shoota on level 1.

When a character die is KO'd, Ork Nob gets +1A and +2D (until end of turn).


While Doctor Doom is active, each non-Villain character gets -1A and -1D (no matter how many Doctor Doom dice you have fielded).


When Ork Boy is KO'd, if you control a (Orks) character die other than Ork Boy, return Ork Boy to the Field Zone at level 1 (clear all damage from Ork Boy).


This appears to trigger an infinite loop, as Ork Boy is not an optional ability. He would repeatedly receive the -1D from Doctor Doom, be KO'd, then returned to the Field Zone at level 1. This would result in Ork Nob gaining an infinite amount of Attack and Defense.

Does the game end in a tie? What happens in single elimination after a top cut of a tournament?

This "combo" can also manifest with an opposing Valindra Shadowmantle: The Right Hand of Szass Tam.

Energy Drain 2

While Valindra Shadowmantle is active, opposing non-evil character dice get -1A and -1D.


This loop highlights a meta-rule that we'll be implementing on Dice Masters going forward.

Infinite Loops:
1) If a static effect and an applied effect interact to create an infinite loop, and none of the cards creating this loop affect any other players or cards, the loop will repeat 3 times and then the applied effect will not repeat (regardless of if any other external effects are triggering off the interaction - they will only trigger the 3 times).
2) If there's an infinite loop that neither player could select to stop, the game stops the loop after it triggers 3 times.


So Valindra or Doom would get to KO the Ork Boy, and he'd recur himself 3 times (giving each of the Ork Nob dice +1A and +2D each time, for a total of 4 times). The Ork Boy and the character applying that static de-buff in this case don't look at what the Ork Nob is doing or receiving as a result of their interaction.

-The DM Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests