Opponent's Turn - Using Actions and Fielding Characters

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Opponent's Turn - Using Actions and Fielding Characters

Postby grordonwhitney » Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:37 am

The interaction between the text on Samantha Wilson: Project Rebirth (“When Samantha Wilson is active, when you field a Sidekick die, draw and roll a die”) and certain Sidekick fielding globals such as the one on Professor X: No More, Magnus! (“Pay [mask]. Once per turn, field target Sidkick die in your Used Pile.”) raise some questions for me.

Normally, since a player clears unfielded characters at the end of his Main Step, and unused Action Dice on action faces during the Cleanup Step, he would only have energy in his Reserve Pool during his opponent’s turn. However, if Samantha Wilson’s ability is triggered during the opponent’s turn the player could end up with a die on an action or a character face in their Reserve Pool during the opponent’s turn.

If that happens, when they are passed priority during the opponent’s turn, is it legal for a player to
1) Use an Action Die?, or
2) Field a character from the Reserve Pool (by paying the fielding cost)?
grordonwhitney
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Opponent's Turn - Using Actions and Fielding Characters

Postby dmrulesteam » Mon Mar 26, 2018 4:14 pm

grordonwhitney wrote:The interaction between the text on Samantha Wilson: Project Rebirth (“When Samantha Wilson is active, when you field a Sidekick die, draw and roll a die”) and certain Sidekick fielding globals such as the one on Professor X: No More, Magnus! (“Pay [mask]. Once per turn, field target Sidkick die in your Used Pile.”) raise some questions for me.

Normally, since a player clears unfielded characters at the end of his Main Step, and unused Action Dice on action faces during the Cleanup Step, he would only have energy in his Reserve Pool during his opponent’s turn. However, if Samantha Wilson’s ability is triggered during the opponent’s turn the player could end up with a die on an action or a character face in their Reserve Pool during the opponent’s turn.

If that happens, when they are passed priority during the opponent’s turn, is it legal for a player to
1) Use an Action Die?, or
2) Field a character from the Reserve Pool (by paying the fielding cost)?


Great question! The rulebook doesn't entirely cover this, the section on Rerolling dice says the following:
Many powers allow you to "reroll" a die. When you reroll a die, it stays in the same area it was unless (a) otherwise specified by the card text for the resulting face, or (b) it's in a location that the die face cannot be (for example, an energy result in the field). If the die face cannot be in the specified location and its fate is not specified in the card text, move the die to the Reserve Pool.


In the case of Action dice or character dice being in the Reserve Pool when they can't be there legally, they should be immediately moved to the Used Pile. This would cover cases like yours where a new die was rolled into your Reserve Pool, or cases where existing dice (like energy) in your Reserve Pool were rerolled to no longer be on Energy faces.

Best,
-The WK Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php