EX 056 Iron Man

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: HeroClix Mods

EX 056 Iron Man

Postby bigbear » Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:32 pm

Stark Tower Location Bonus:

The bystanders on this map are "Iron Avengers". At the beginning of the game, choose a friendly character of 50 points or more. That character has " POWER: Roll a d6. If the result is odd, generate the matching Iron Avenger in the square equal to the result if that Iron Avenger isn't already on the map.

If Earth X #056 Iron Man is on your starting force, he must be the chosen character. If so, he can't otherwise generate Iron Avengers. Instead, this Location bonus is a FREE action and he generates an Iron Avenger on any result (not just on odd number results).


Page 4 Core - "Before the first player takes their first turn, both players resolve all effects that trigger “at the beginning of the game.” (See p. 9 for Triggered Effects.)"


Page 18 Core - "The “active player” is the player that is currently taking their turn. When order matters for effects or choices that would resolve simultaneously, the active player chooses the order in which to resolve those effects, though any simultaneous effects with “immediately” must happen before other simultaneous effects."


Earth X Iron Man #056- IRON AVENGERS: The bystanders printed on this card are "Iron Avengers". At the beginning of the game, generate two different Iron Avengers.//Whenever an Iron Avenger is KO'd, after resolutions roll a d6. 1-2: Deal Iron Man 1 unavoidable damage.


Can the active player who chooses the map, choose to resolve the effect of Iron Man"Iron Avengers" trait, before choosing to resolve Stark Tower location bonus at the beginning of the game?
bigbear
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: EX 056 Iron Man

Postby sspooner » Sun Feb 17, 2019 5:17 pm

LOCATION BONUS: IRON AVENGERS, ASSEMBLE The bystanders printed on this map are "Iron Avengers". At the beginning of the game, choose a friendly character of 50 points or more. That character has "POWER: Roll a d6. If the result is odd, generate the matching Iron Avenger in the square equal to the result if that Iron Avenger is not already on the map.

If [SET #056] Iron Man is on your starting force, he must be the chosen character. If so, this game he can’t activate his trait to generate Iron Avengers. Instead, this Location bonus is a FREE action and he generates an Iron Avenger on any result (not just on odd number results). 1: Tank 2: Monolith 3: Crimson Sage 4: Steelbow 5: Bolt 6: Sting CONSOLATION: At the beginning of the game, generate a Tank, Crimson Sage, or Bolt bystander in your starting area.


2) THE RULE OF OCCUPANCY
Any effect resulting in two or more characters occupying the same square is prohibited. Any effect resulting in characters, markers, or objects occupying a square of blocking terrain is prohibited except for clear and debris markers. If a non-optional effect that places a game element would cause either situation to occur, the opponent chooses a square that is as close as possible to the specified square for the game element to be placed instead.

You may never choose to activate an action or use an optional triggered effect to violate the Rule of Occupancy. In such a scenario, the game element is not placed, either from elsewhere on the map or off the map. For example, a triggered effect says “When a friendly character is KO’d, you may place this character adjacent to the square it last occupied.” If all those adjacent squares were occupied by characters or were blocking terrain, then you would not be able to place this character as the effect was optional (says “you may”). If the effect was non-optional (did not say “you may”) then your opponent places the character into a legal square nearest to the specified square.


I have some questions regarding this map bonus, iron man, and the rule of occupancy.

1) If iron man rolls a number, and that portal is occupied by a figure, does he generate the bystander?

2) If all portals are occupied by other figures, would iron man be able to be given the action at all?
sspooner
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 7:51 am

Re: EX 056 Iron Man

Postby hcrulesteam » Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:53 am

bigbear wrote:Can the active player who chooses the map, choose to resolve the effect of Iron Man"Iron Avengers" trait, before choosing to resolve Stark Tower location bonus at the beginning of the game?

Yes.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: EX 056 Iron Man

Postby hcrulesteam » Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:55 am

sspooner wrote:1) If iron man rolls a number, and that portal is occupied by a figure, does he generate the bystander?

Yes, but the bystander will be placed by your opponent in the nearest legal square.

2) If all portals are occupied by other figures, would iron man be able to be given the action at all?

No.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm

Re: EX 056 Iron Man

Postby jaysolomongrundy » Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:59 pm

Stark Tower Location Bonus - The bystanders on this map are "Iron Avengers". At the beginning of the game, choose a friendly character of 50 points or more. That character has " POWER: Roll a d6. If the result is odd, generate the matching Iron Avenger in the square equal to the result if that Iron Avenger isn't already on the map.

If Earth X #056 Iron Man is on your starting force, he must be the chosen character. If so, he can't otherwise generate Iron Avengers. Instead, this Location bonus is a FREE action and he generates an Iron Avenger on any result (not just on odd number results).



Earth X Iron Man #056 - IRON AVENGERS: The bystanders printed on this card are "Iron Avengers". At the beginning of the game, generate two different Iron Avengers.//Whenever an Iron Avenger is KO'd, after resolutions roll a d6. 1-2: Deal Iron Man 1 unavoidable damage.



When generating bystanders from the effect granted to Iron Man by the map Location Bonus, will Iron Man's trait trigger if one of those generated bystanders is KO'd, causing him to roll to possibly damage himself?
jaysolomongrundy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:58 am

Re: EX 056 Iron Man

Postby hcrulesteam » Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:49 pm

jaysolomongrundy wrote:When generating bystanders from the effect granted to Iron Man by the map Location Bonus, will Iron Man's trait trigger if one of those generated bystanders is KO'd, causing him to roll to possibly damage himself?

Yes. Please note that he would only roll when an Iron Avenger he generated is KO'd.
User avatar
hcrulesteam
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:26 pm


Return to HeroClix Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 5 guests