Overcrush and Hulk

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Overcrush and Hulk

Postby knight4612 » Mon May 11, 2015 2:04 pm

Hulk has the following ability:
While Hulk is active, whenever either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk deals 2 damage to each opposing character (no matter how many Hulks are fielded).* He deals 3 damage instead.


If Hulk blocks a character with Overcrush, would Hulk ability occur twice (once for hulk taking damage, and once for the opponent taking damage)?

For instance, Level 1 Hulk Green Goliath (6 Atk/5 Def) blocks Level 3 Martian Manhunter Green Martian (7 Atk/4 Def) with Overcrush. Does Hulk to 3 damage or 6 damage to all opposing characters?
knight4612
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 10:16 pm

Re: Overcrush and Hulk

Postby dmrulesteam » Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:27 pm

Hulk has the following ability:
While Hulk is active, whenever either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk deals 2 damage to each opposing character (no matter how many Hulks are fielded).* He deals 3 damage instead.

If Hulk blocks a character with Overcrush, would Hulk ability occur twice (once for hulk taking damage, and once for the opponent taking damage)?

For instance, Level 1 Hulk Green Goliath (6 Atk/5 Def) blocks Level 3 Martian Manhunter Green Martian (7 Atk/4 Def) with Overcrush. Does Hulk to 3 damage or 6 damage to all opposing characters?


No. When a card’s ability is triggered multiple times by the same, simultaneous game effect, the card’s ability only triggers once. Here, there is a single game effect (the attacking Martian Manhunter’s attack damage) which resolves simultaneously. As a result, a card ability triggered by that game effect (Hulk) only triggers once. In your example, Hulk would only deal 3 damage to opposing characters.

Some people have been confused about what constitutes multiple game effects. A second copy of Martian Manhunter, dealing damage directly to the player, would be an additional game effect.

The relevant text from the rulebook and FAQ is as follows:

DC Dice Masters: Justice League Rulebook Page 10:
Both players assign damage. Damage occurs simultaneously.


DC Dice Masters: Justice League Rulebook Page 26:
Overcrush: When attacking, if this character knocks out all of its blockers, it deals any leftover damage to your opponent.


Marvel Dice Masters FAQ – 9/22/2014:
13) Q: If a card effect is triggered multiple times by the same game effect, does the card effect happen multiple times as a result?
No, just once.


-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests