General: Targeting?

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

General: Targeting?

Postby danhenneke » Mon May 11, 2015 2:41 am

There has been a general question floating around my play group. What abilities target? For example, consider the difference between Human Torch: "Flame On!" AvX 10 and Firestorm: Jason and Ronnie JL 51.
It is obvious that Firestorm targets.
Firestorm: Jason and Ronnie
While active, when you field a [Bolt] character (including Firestorm), deal 2 damage to target character or player.

However, Human Torch, or at least "Flame On!", is not so obvious.
While Human Torch is active, he deals 1 damage to a character or player each time you field a character (not 1 damage per die).


Would it be possible to get a list of abilities, both character and action, that target, as per rule, not as per "Well of course that targets?" I can see this degenerating in major arguments.

Thank you for your time.
danhenneke
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 2:42 am

Re: General: Targeting?

Postby dmrulesteam » Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:22 pm

There has been a general question floating around my play group. What abilities target? For example, consider the difference between Human Torch: "Flame On!" AvX 10 and Firestorm: Jason and Ronnie JL 51.
It is obvious that Firestorm targets.

Firestorm: Jason and Ronnie
While active, when you field a [Bolt] character (including Firestorm), deal 2 damage to target character or player.


However, Human Torch, or at least "Flame On!", is not so obvious.

While Human Torch is active, he deals 1 damage to a character or player each time you field a character (not 1 damage per die).


Would it be possible to get a list of abilities, both character and action, that target, as per rule, not as per "Well of course that targets?" I can see this degenerating in major arguments.


Human Torch – Flame On!’s ability is considered to target a character. An action or ability targets a character when it requires a player to select a set number of affected characters. It is unfortunately beyond the scope of the Rules Forum to provide a comprehensive list of characters with such abilities, as the list would be quite long, but please feel free to post another question if there is a specific character that you are unsure about. We're continuing to improve wording on cards moving forward.

The relevant text from the FAQ is as follows:

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ – 9/22/2014:
Imprisoned doesn’t use the word “target.” Target implies a set number of targets, not a grouping that meets a requirement (as Imprisoned has you select).


-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron