Iron Golem - Greater Construct Prevent Ability

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Iron Golem - Greater Construct Prevent Ability

Postby barbain » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:13 pm

How does Iron Golem prevention ability actually work?

Iron Golem - Greater Construct
Fabricate 3-5. While active, prevent the first damage to you from each source during your opponent's turn.


My examples will include the following cards:
Green Goblin - "Gobby"
When fielded. Green Goblin deals 1 damage to your opponent for each Sidekick in the field (count your Sidekicks only).

Wasp - Founding Avenger
While Wasp is active, when your opponent uses a Global Ability, she deals them 1 damage. GLOBAL: Once per turn, you may pay 2. Deal 1 damage to a character or player.

Iron Fist - The Immortal
While Iron Fist is active, reduce damage from opposing character's abilities by 1. When Iron Fist is KO'd, you may move a "fist" die with purchase cost 5 or more from your Used Pile to your Prep Area.


Power Bolt - Basic Action Card
Deal 2 damage to one target character or player.


What is it meant by "prevent the first damage to you from each source"? Does this prevent all the damage or just 1 damage? I.E. Opponent fields "Gobby" for 3 damage. Does Iron Golem prevent all 3 damage or just 1 point of damage to reduce it down to 2 damage? What would happen if my opponent fielded another "Gobby"?

Another example: Let say my opponent has a Wasp - Founding Avenger out and I use a global on my opponent's turn twice. Iron Golem would prevent the first damage from Wasp but not the second correct?
What would happen if I had an Iron Fist field on my side reducing the damage of the wasp. Would Iron Golem still trigger on the first instance of damage even if it's now 0? I.E. I use a global ability on my opponent's turn, Wasp triggers to deal 1 damage and Iron Fist reduces it down to 0, Iron Golem triggers to prevent the 0 damage. My opponent then attacks with the Wasp die unblocked dealing it's Attack to me. Iron Golem has already triggered and will not prevent this damage, or will the trigger note the damage is 0 and will not count thus trigger again on the combat damage from Wasp?

The source of a Global is the player using it correct? I know Wasp's global is a once per turn, but if my opponent could use Wasp - Founding Avenger's GLBOAL twice the first time its used would trigger Iron Golem but not the second correct?

Each Action Die is it's own source correct? I.E. using 1 or more Power Bolt action die would trigger Iron Golem each time correct?
barbain
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Iron Golem - Greater Construct Prevent Ability

Postby dmrulesteam » Fri Feb 19, 2016 6:24 pm

barbain wrote:How does Iron Golem prevention ability actually work?

Iron Golem - Greater Construct
Fabricate 3-5. While active, prevent the first damage to you from each source during your opponent's turn.


My examples will include the following cards:
Green Goblin - "Gobby"
When fielded. Green Goblin deals 1 damage to your opponent for each Sidekick in the field (count your Sidekicks only).

Wasp - Founding Avenger
While Wasp is active, when your opponent uses a Global Ability, she deals them 1 damage. GLOBAL: Once per turn, you may pay 2. Deal 1 damage to a character or player.

Iron Fist - The Immortal
While Iron Fist is active, reduce damage from opposing character's abilities by 1. When Iron Fist is KO'd, you may move a "fist" die with purchase cost 5 or more from your Used Pile to your Prep Area.


Power Bolt - Basic Action Card
Deal 2 damage to one target character or player.


What is it meant by "prevent the first damage to you from each source"? Does this prevent all the damage or just 1 damage? I.E. Opponent fields "Gobby" for 3 damage. Does Iron Golem prevent all 3 damage or just 1 point of damage to reduce it down to 2 damage? What would happen if my opponent fielded another "Gobby"?

Another example: Let say my opponent has a Wasp - Founding Avenger out and I use a global on my opponent's turn twice. Iron Golem would prevent the first damage from Wasp but not the second correct?
What would happen if I had an Iron Fist field on my side reducing the damage of the wasp. Would Iron Golem still trigger on the first instance of damage even if it's now 0? I.E. I use a global ability on my opponent's turn, Wasp triggers to deal 1 damage and Iron Fist reduces it down to 0, Iron Golem triggers to prevent the 0 damage. My opponent then attacks with the Wasp die unblocked dealing it's Attack to me. Iron Golem has already triggered and will not prevent this damage, or will the trigger note the damage is 0 and will not count thus trigger again on the combat damage from Wasp?

The source of a Global is the player using it correct? I know Wasp's global is a once per turn, but if my opponent could use Wasp - Founding Avenger's GLBOAL twice the first time its used would trigger Iron Golem but not the second correct?

Each Action Die is it's own source correct? I.E. using 1 or more Power Bolt action die would trigger Iron Golem each time correct?


1) In the case of a single character die dealing both ability damage and combat damage, Iron Golem would only prevent 1.
2) It only prevents 1 damage.
3) If Iron Golem doesn't prevent damage (because something like Iron Fist reduces 1 to 0) that doesn't use up the Golem's ability to prevent damage - it hasn't prevented damage.
4) Each Action Die is indeed a new source.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests