Back for More Keyword Clarification

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Back for More Keyword Clarification

Postby jbouwme » Tue Jan 28, 2025 10:54 pm

Hello WizKids,

Upon recent review of the Back for More keyword, which reads "When a die with Back for More begins the turn in your Prep Area, and is rolled during the Roll and Reroll Step, use its Back for More effect (this isn’t optional). (MDM 6)"

Some of the cards that use the Back for More keyword, use the phrasing of "you may" do something, however, the keyword says the effect is not optional.

Example: Agent X: Nijo Minamiyori:
Back for More - You may pay 1 life to draw a die and roll it. (Use when rolled from the Prep Area.)

Could you please clarify is the effect a "may", aka optional, or is it mandatory as outlined in the keyword glossary.

Appreciate your support.
-jbouwme & superk
jbouwme
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:54 am

Re: Back for More Keyword Clarification

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Jan 29, 2025 2:19 pm

While the definition for Back For More in the Appendix 1 of the Comprehensive Rule Book does state this keyword effect is not optional, the following rule takes precedence:
Rule 1.1.2: Card text always supersedes rule book text. In some cases, this is emphasized by stating “unless otherwise stated” in this rule book - meaning a card’s text may have specific words, sometimes italicized in parenthesis, that apply an ability differently from a rule.


For the three cards with the Back For More keyword that have the words “you may” (Agent X: Ninjo Minamiyori, Domino: Neena Thurman, and Mister Sinister: Apocalyptic Transformation), the application of the Back For More effect is optional.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests