Paying Life vs. Taking Damage

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Paying Life vs. Taking Damage

Postby jwalk40 » Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:16 pm

Is there a difference between paying life and taking damage? For example, I use Punisher- McRook to knock out a target character. My opponent chooses to pay 2 life to prevent this effect. Does this life loss trigger a character such as Hulk- Green Goliath? "While Hulk is active, whenever either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk deals 2 damage to each opposing character (no matter how many Hulks are fielded)."

Would this ruling apply similarly to the Ironman- Inventor or Vibranium Shield globals? Because paying costs cannot be avoided are you unable to redirect or prevent damage when paying life?

Thanks!
jwalk40
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:56 pm

Re: Paying Life vs. Taking Damage

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:18 pm

Taking damage, losing life, and paying life are all different.

Cards that interact with damage only deal with damage.

Cards that stop you from losing life wouldn't effect damage.

Paying life is a cost - unless something says so, you can't skip paying the cost.

I hope that clears it up.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Paying Life vs. Taking Damage

Postby empressofthelight » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:20 pm

If my opponent plays Professor X (Charles Francis Xavier) and I have an active Nick Fury (Mr. Anger), if I try to field an Avenger character would I still be required to pay 2 life to ignore Professor X's effect? Since Nick Fury allows me to field Avengers for free (no cost) and paying 2 life would be a cost associated with playing the Avengers character?
empressofthelight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:35 am

Re: Paying Life vs. Taking Damage

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Feb 05, 2015 6:39 pm

Mr. Anger does not let you get around Professor X's ability.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php