Secret Wars Card Clarifications (4.14.2023)

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Secret Wars Card Clarifications (4.14.2023)

Postby dmrulesteam » Fri Apr 14, 2023 1:55 pm

As has been done with previous sets, we are issuing clarifications to the cards from the Secret Wars set under one entry. Abilities with no asterisk next to their number have underlined words added appropriately to the published card text for completeness and to eliminate any confusion as to the ability’s intent.

Abilities with an asterisk have clarifications for specific application questions.

(1) Agent Brand: Hel-Rangers (U)
While Agent Brand is active, your character dice gain Fast.

(2*) Beast: Mind Gem (R)
While Beast is active, when you spend a [Mask] to field a character die, deal up to 2 damage to target character die.
Q: How is the damage calculated?
A: The damage is inflicted for each mask that is spent. For example, you spend 2 mask energy to field one Character die, up to 4 damage is dealt. Also, you can split the damage into groups of “up to 2” amongst multiple targets as applicable. So, if you spent 3 masks to field a Character die, you could deal 2 damage to one target, 1 damage to another target, and 0 damage to a third target.

(3) Black Panther: Clutching Reality (C)
Energize – Draw and roll 2 dice from your bag.
When fielded, draw and roll a die from your bag.

(4*) Black Swan: Defending Castle Doom (U)
While Black Swan is active, you may KO her to prevent combat damage dealt to one of your (Shield) character dice this turn.
Q: When can she be KO’d to prevent the combat damage?
A: She can be KO’d in the Use Action Dice and Global abilities sub-step of the Attack Step.

(5) Captain Marvel: The Last Avenger (U)
When fielded, roll 2 dice from your Used Pile and place them in your Reserve Pool.

(6) Captain Marvel: New Avenger (R)
Teamwatch - Roll a die from your Prep Area placing it in your Reserve Pool and reroll target opposing character die.

(7*) Colossus: Fighting Limbo (R)
Teamwatch - Put a +1 attack and +1 defense token on one of your [X-Men] characters.
Iron Will
Q: Does the token go on the card or an active die?
A: The token goes on the card.

(8) Corvis Glaive: Brutal Warlord (R)
While Corvis Glaive is active, at the end of your turn, if 4 or more opposing character dice were KO'd, draw and roll 2 dice from your bag and Prep 3 dice.

(9) Dazzler: Alison Blaire (R)
While you have an active character die with a purchase cost 4 or greater, Dazzler is free to field. When fielded, deal 2 damage to target non-[Bolt] character die.

(10) Groot: Skilled Investigator (C)
When fielded, draw and roll 2 dice from your bag.

(11*) Groot: I Am... Thor! (R)
When fielded, deal 1 damage to every character die. Prep a die from your bag if any character dice are KO'd by this damage.
Q: Would you only prep 1 die regardless of the number of dice KO'd?
A: Yes, you would only prep 1 die regardless of the number of dice KO'd by Groot’s ability.

(12) Invisible Woman: Regent of the Uhari Throne (R)
While Invisible Woman is active, your [Fantastic Four] character dice and [Sidekick Character dice] get +1 attack and +1 defense.

(13*) Kang: Prophetic Revelation (C)
While Kang is active, once per turn, a player may pay 2 life to reroll a die in their Reserve Pool.
Q: When can this cost be paid?
A: The cost is paid whenever you could use a Global ability.

(14) King Hyperion: global (U/R/S versions)
Global: Pay [1 shield]. Target attacking character die goes to the Used Pile if KO'd this turn.

(15) Madelyne Pryor: Hex Men (U)
When fielded place a +1 attack and +1 defense counter on the character card on your team with the least counters on it (in case of a tie, you choose).
Consider this an errata since “die” is deleted and replaced with “card”.

(16) Mister Sinister: Battleworld (U)
When Mister Sinister is KO'd, you may KO an opposing character die with a purchase cost of 4 or less.

(17) Molecule Man: Megalomaniac (U)
Global: Pay [1 shield]. The first character die you field this turn is free to field.

(18) Molecule Man: Cheeseburger Eater (S)
While Molecule Man is active, your [Spider-Man Family] character dice cost (1) less to field, cost (1) less to purchase, and return to the Field Zone after they deal combat damage to your opponent.

(19) Mr. Fantastic: Rebuilding Everything (S)
When fielded, draw and roll a die from your bag for each of your active [Fantastic Four] character dice.

(20) Phoenix Force Cyclops: Bonded to the Force (C)
When fielded, choose an opposing character card, cancelling all previous choices. Dice from that character card get -5 attack while Phoenix Force Cyclops is active.

(21) Phoenix Force Cyclops: Fighting Against Doom (S)
When fielded, choose an opposing character card, cancelling all previous choices. Your opponent can't field character dice from that card until Phoenix Force Cyclops leaves the Field Zone.

(22*) Sheriff Strange: Peacekeeper (R)
While Sheriff Strange is active, when you use an action die, roll a character die from your Used Pile.
Q: What is done with the rolled die?
A: The rolled character die goes to the Reserve Pool.

(23) Shocking Grasp: Basic Action Card
Deal 1 damage to target character die. If that character die is KO'd by this damage, you may Prep this die.

(24) Spider-Man: Black Suit (S)
While Spider-Man is active, opposing non-[fist] character dice get -1 attack and -1 defense.
Global: Pay [1 fist]. Spin an opponent's Fist character die down 1 level.

(25) Stormbreaker Ray: Devoted to Doom (C)
Stormbreaker Ray can't be blocked by character dice of purchase cost 2 or less.

(26*) Stormbreaker Ray: Korbinite (R)
Global: Pay [3 energy]. Roll a character die from your Used Pile, field it if it shows a character face. Can only be used if one of your character dice was spun to an energy face or rerolled this turn.
Q: How does this global ability apply with Sidekick dice?
A: Sidekick dice cannot be rolled from the Used Pile, since they are not Character dice in an unrolled dice play area. This ability can be initiated if a Sidekick Character die in the Reserve Pool or Field Zone was spun to an energy face or rerolled, since abilities that apply to Character dice also apply to Sidekick Character dice in rolled dice play areas.

(27) Terrax: The Truly Enlightened (C)
When fielded, draw and roll 2 dice from your bag.

(28) The Siege Perilous: Epic Basic Action Card
Each player rolls all character and Sidekick dice from their Prep Area and Used Pile, and each player may immediately field all of those character and Sidekick dice for free. Return any unfielded dice to their original play areas.

(29) Thing: Idol to Millions (S)
Iron Will
When fielded, draw and roll 3 dice from your bag.

(30) Thor of Higher Avalon: Thor Corps Investigator (C)
When fielded, draw and roll a die from your bag.

(31) Thor of Higher Avalon: Fighting Dissidents (U)
While Thor of Higher Avalon is active, at the start of your opponent's attack step, deal 2 damage for each Team Affiliation in their Field Zone, divided any way you choose among their character dice.

(32) Ultimate Spider-Man: Brooklyn Visions Academy (S)
When fielded, choose a card on your team, replacing all previous choices. It gains [Spider-Friends] (until end of turn).
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests