Mr Freeze - For Nora

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Mr Freeze - For Nora

Postby rpettafor » Tue Jan 14, 2025 9:14 pm

Mr. Freeze - For Nora reads

When Mr. Freeze takes combat damage, put a Stun token on an opposing character card


If Mr Freeze is blocked by more than 1 character die, do they count as separate instances of combat damage?

So, if he is blocked by 3 character dice, would he get to put 1 stun token on an opposing card, or 3 on opposing cards?
rpettafor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:27 pm

Re: Mr Freeze - For Nora

Postby dmrulesteam » Sat Jan 25, 2025 6:58 pm

No. Damage from multiple blockers is not counted as separate instances of combat damage.

If Mr. Freeze is blocked by 3 character dice, he would apply only 1 Stun token.

Rule 2.7.4.3: The assigning of combat damage from all attackers and blockers is considered one game action that occurs in such a tight sequence that almost nothing can resolve within this sub-step. Usually, players assign damage die-by-die, although for determining the game state, combat damage for all dice technically occurs simultaneously.

Rule 2.7.4.3.7: If an attacker has two or more blockers, each blocker will assign its damage separately, but no other abilities can be initiated until the total sum of their damage is dealt to the attacker.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Mr Freeze - For Nora

Postby m4sterp » Sun Jan 26, 2025 10:07 am

I'm sorry, but this seems to directly contradict the text in the rulebook regarding Iron Will:

Iron Will: This Character die cannot be KO’d unless it was previously damaged this turn or if it is
simultaneously damaged by two different sources. If this die was previously damaged this turn and (a) it is
damaged a second time and the total damage it received this turn equals or exceeds its defense value, or (b)
an ability later in the same turn reduces this die’s defense value such that the damage it previously received
this turn is equal to or greater than its new defense value, or (c) an ability applies an effect that KO’s the die,
then KO this die. Also KO this die if it is simultaneously damaged by more than one source (e.g. being
blocked by more than one Character die) and the total damage it receives from those sources equals or
exceeds its defense value.
(1) When a Character die with Iron Will is blocked with multiple dice, the first blocker triggers Iron Will and
any further damage may KO that Character die.
Example: A Character die with Iron Will and 6D is blocked by two dice with 3A each. One die will trigger the Iron Will ability with
its 3 damage and the second die would deal its 3 damage, for a total of 6 damage, KO’ing the Iron Will Character die.
Iron Will only
protects against single sources of damage such as a 6A Character die engaged with an Iron Will 6D Character die. In this case, the
Iron Will die would be dealt 6 damage and the Iron Will ability would trigger.


Surely if it's multiple instances of damage for the sake of Iron Will, it's multiple instances for the sake of Mr. Freeze?
m4sterp
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Mr Freeze - For Nora

Postby dmrulesteam » Mon Jan 27, 2025 11:26 am

There is no contraction. Iron Will is a keyword ability that has specific text for its application. If there are deviations from the normal application of a game effect, the definition of the keyword states these differences. For example, Overcrush and Fast have deviations from how combat damage is normally resolved, hence the use of a specific keyword to apply these effects.

Mr. Freeze’s ability does not fall under the application of a keyword ability, but under the normal application of applying and resolving combat damage, which follows the previously cited rules.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Mr Freeze - For Nora

Postby m4sterp » Mon Jan 27, 2025 4:17 pm

What about this Jocasta ruling? https://win.wizkids.com/bb/viewtopic.ph ... 86&p=20439

2. If I were to block an 8A Wolverine and a 1A Sidekick with two Jocasta's, which player would get to decide which one triggers? If the active player (my opponent) got to choose, obviously they'd choose the 1A, while if the inactive player (me) gets to choose, I'd choose the 8A.

Damage happens simultaneously. Then, Jocasta's ability tries to go off if it was the first time any of that player's Jocasta dice would take damage. "If simultaneous effects are controlled by the same player, that player chooses the order of those effects." -p. 21 of the Marvel Dice Masters: Amazing Spider-Man rulebook. So the player with Jocasta chooses which instance of her ability triggers (for the 1 damage or the 8 damage), and the remaining instances would not (since they are no longer first).


If I apply your current ruling on Mr Freeze, Jocasta would deal 9 damage in this scenario.
m4sterp
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Mr Freeze - For Nora

Postby dmrulesteam » Tue Jan 28, 2025 12:14 pm

This Jocasta ruling was answering the question of how to resolve her ability when multiple Jocasta dice are dealt combat damage in the same turn. The unique situation with Jocasta’s ability is a determination must be made as to which source (i.e. which engaged die) is applied first when combat damage is involved.

Mr. Freeze’s ability requires no determination on taking damage “the first time”. Therefore, the application of Jocasta’s ability as clarified in her ruling is irrelevant when applying Mr. Freeze’s ability. However, both rulings reaffirm that combat damage occurs simultaneously.
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron