Vibranium Shield Global: Is a reactive ability triggered?

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Vibranium Shield Global: Is a reactive ability triggered?

Postby jbmoby » Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:53 pm

Pay [1 Shield] to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.


A reaction ability would inherently seem to be a triggered ability, but the language of the global doesn't have a trigger explicitly stated: eg "when a character or player would take damage..."

So, can you use the Vibranium Shield ability to prevent multiple points of damage from the same source (eg pay two shield to prevent all the damage from one Power Bolt)?
jbmoby
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 10:30 pm

Re: Vibranium Shield Global: Is a reactive ability triggered

Postby dmrulesteam » Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:47 pm

jbmoby wrote:
Pay [1 Shield] to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.


A reaction ability would inherently seem to be a triggered ability, but the language of the global doesn't have a trigger explicitly stated: eg "when a character or player would take damage..."

So, can you use the Vibranium Shield ability to prevent multiple points of damage from the same source (eg pay two shield to prevent all the damage from one Power Bolt)?


This wording is meant for multiple usages. You could prevent both damage from Power Bolt. Wording like, "When you are dealt damage, pay X for effect A." means you can only do it once.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 39 guests

Fatal: Not able to open cache/data_global.php