D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby morrisonmp » Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:41 am

The Experience Ability is very confusing.

Experience: While active, if you knocked out an opposing monster (that is, a character with the black Monster allegiance banner) during your turn, place one experience token on this card at the end of your turn (use a coin or glass bead). Each experience token provides this card’s dice with +1A and +1D at all levels. A card cannot get more than one experience token per turn. However, several different cards (each with the Experience ability) can each get an experience token when only a single opposing monster is knocked out. Monsters knocked out during your opponent’s turn do not provide experience tokens. Knocking out NPCs and other adventurers likewise does not provide experience tokens; only knocking out monsters. If your opponent voluntarily sacrifices a creature to power one of his own effects, that also provides no experience.


This creates several questions:

1. Does the "you" (in the first sentence) refer to a specific creature die (that is, the one engaged die in an attack)?
2. If so, how can "several different cards (each with the Experience ability) can each get an experience token when only a single opposing monster is knocked out."?
3. Does the attacking character have to survive the attack in order to gain the Experience token? That is, if it is also knocked out when damage is resolved, it is no longer "active" and so would it get the token?
4. Are experience tokens gained through this ability ever removed from the card?

5. Final question (refers back to #2). If multiple characters with the Experience Ability are in the Field Zone (or attacking) - say a Halfling Thief and a Human Paladin - and the Human Paladin knocks out a monster - does the Halfling Thief also gain an Experience token even if it did not attack the monster that was knocked out?

The Experience Ability feels extremely powerful depending on the interpretation of the wording of the power and the answers to these questions.

Thank you for your help.
morrisonmp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:33 am

Re: D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:24 am

morrisonmp wrote:The Experience Ability is very confusing.

Experience: While active, if you knocked out an opposing monster (that is, a character with the black Monster allegiance banner) during your turn, place one experience token on this card at the end of your turn (use a coin or glass bead). Each experience token provides this card’s dice with +1A and +1D at all levels. A card cannot get more than one experience token per turn. However, several different cards (each with the Experience ability) can each get an experience token when only a single opposing monster is knocked out. Monsters knocked out during your opponent’s turn do not provide experience tokens. Knocking out NPCs and other adventurers likewise does not provide experience tokens; only knocking out monsters. If your opponent voluntarily sacrifices a creature to power one of his own effects, that also provides no experience.


This creates several questions:

1. Does the "you" (in the first sentence) refer to a specific creature die (that is, the one engaged die in an attack)?
2. If so, how can "several different cards (each with the Experience ability) can each get an experience token when only a single opposing monster is knocked out."?
3. Does the attacking character have to survive the attack in order to gain the Experience token? That is, if it is also knocked out when damage is resolved, it is no longer "active" and so would it get the token?
4. Are experience tokens gained through this ability ever removed from the card?

5. Final question (refers back to #2). If multiple characters with the Experience Ability are in the Field Zone (or attacking) - say a Halfling Thief and a Human Paladin - and the Human Paladin knocks out a monster - does the Halfling Thief also gain an Experience token even if it did not attack the monster that was knocked out?

The Experience Ability feels extremely powerful depending on the interpretation of the wording of the power and the answers to these questions.

Thank you for your help.

Experience is a really cool mechanic. Here are some answers:

1) No, it refers to you as the player and your character dice.
2) If my Elf Wizard and Human Paladin are both in play when I KO my opponent's Zombie with a Magic Missile, and they are both in play at the end of the turn, they'll both get an Experience token for "watching" the KO.
3) If I have 2 Human Paladins, and one is KO'd by an opposing monster (and that monster is KO'd by my Human Paladin), my Human Paladin card would get an Experience token if the 2nd die was still in play at the end of the turn.
4) They aren't removed unless a game effect specifically says so.
5) See #2.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby morrisonmp » Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:27 am

I appreciate the answers.

I was worried this would be the case. This feels incredibly overpowered based on current play experience.
morrisonmp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:33 am

Re: D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby jhoratio » Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:29 am

Do experience tokens gained by a character remain even after all copies of his die are KOed or sent to used? If so, I've been playing this wrong.
jhoratio
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:52 am

Re: D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:59 am

morrisonmp wrote:I appreciate the answers.

I was worried this would be the case. This feels incredibly overpowered based on current play experience.

You're welcome. I'd encourage you to play a lot of games and see how it goes!

jhoratio wrote:Do experience tokens gained by a character remain even after all copies of his die are KOed or sent to used? If so, I've been playing this wrong.

Experience tokens stay even if all copies of a die are KO'd or sent to the Used Pile. Minsc and Boo is a little exceptional, please refer to their card text for details.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby scorpion0x17 » Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:32 am

Does a character that "watched" a KO need to have dice remaining in the field in order for it to gain experience?

For example, if I have two different Adventurer dice fielded, Attack with one, KO a Monster, and both are then KO, by some means, before the end of the turn, will either character gain Experience at the end of the turn?

Similarly, if have just a single Adventurer fielded, Attack with it, it goes unblocked, and I then KO an opposing Monster, by some means, does the Adventurer that attacked gain Experience?

In short, when does the Experience trigger? Is it when an opposing Monster is KO'd on your turn, or is it at the end of a turn of yours in which a Monster was KO'd? And, if the latter, does it look back to see what Adventurers were active at the time of the KO, or does it only consider those Adventurers still active at the end of the turn?
scorpion0x17
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:51 pm

Re: D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby basementcuts » Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 am

If my human paladin and green dragon attack and the paladin goes through unblocked but my dragon KO'd a monster, does my paladin get experience?
basementcuts
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:17 pm

Re: D&D Dice Masters: Experience

Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:33 pm

scorpion0x17 wrote:Does a character that "watched" a KO need to have dice remaining in the field in order for it to gain experience?

For example, if I have two different Adventurer dice fielded, Attack with one, KO a Monster, and both are then KO, by some means, before the end of the turn, will either character gain Experience at the end of the turn?

Similarly, if have just a single Adventurer fielded, Attack with it, it goes unblocked, and I then KO an opposing Monster, by some means, does the Adventurer that attacked gain Experience?

In short, when does the Experience trigger? Is it when an opposing Monster is KO'd on your turn, or is it at the end of a turn of yours in which a Monster was KO'd? And, if the latter, does it look back to see what Adventurers were active at the time of the KO, or does it only consider those Adventurers still active at the end of the turn?

I was trying to illustrate what you're asking about here:
3) If I have 2 Human Paladins, and one is KO'd by an opposing monster (and that monster is KO'd by my Human Paladin), my Human Paladin card would get an Experience token if the 2nd die was still in play at the end of the turn.

Essentially, there are 2 moments where the character needs to be active: when the KO happens, and at the end of the turn.
basementcuts wrote:If my human paladin and green dragon attack and the paladin goes through unblocked but my dragon KO'd a monster, does my paladin get experience?

Your Paladin wouldn't be active at the end of the turn to gain the Experience.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests