Prismatic Spray: Removing Text Overrides Abilities?

Ask your rules questions here!

Moderator: Dice Masters Mod

Prismatic Spray: Removing Text Overrides Abilities?

Postby schtauffen » Tue May 12, 2015 4:33 pm

WK rules that being KO'd does not prevent effects like Constantine, Hellblazer (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=5924) and Deadpool, Jack (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2169&p=4818) from carrying on. It is clear from these rulings that the effect does no "active" check on their creator to fire, however, it does not rule one way or the other for when their character text is removed. In example:

1) Player A begins his turn, and before the draw & clear step Player B uses his Constantine, Hellblazer naming Gobby.
2) Player A draws and rolls Prismatic Spray, Lesser Spell and Green Goblin, "Gobby". He activates the Spray, wiping out Constantine's text.
3) Player A then fields Gobby. Does Gobby deal ability damage, and is he able to attack?
schtauffen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Prismatic Spray: Removing Text Overrides Abilities?

Postby dmrulesteam » Tue May 26, 2015 5:28 pm

schtauffen wrote:WK rules that being KO'd does not prevent effects like Constantine, Hellblazer (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=5924) and Deadpool, Jack (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2169&p=4818) from carrying on. It is clear from these rulings that the effect does no "active" check on their creator to fire, however, it does not rule one way or the other for when their character text is removed. In example:

1) Player A begins his turn, and before the draw & clear step Player B uses his Constantine, Hellblazer naming Gobby.
2) Player A draws and rolls Prismatic Spray, Lesser Spell and Green Goblin, "Gobby". He activates the Spray, wiping out Constantine's text.
3) Player A then fields Gobby. Does Gobby deal ability damage, and is he able to attack?


Gobby is able to attack and use his "When fielded" ability.

The effect resides on the player, and Constantine's owner names Gobby. When the effect tries to check what happens it isn't able to make anything happen - we're now ignoring Constantine's text.

If for some reason, Gobby was fielded, and then someone chose to use Prismatic Spray, he would not be able to attack.

-The Dice Masters Rules Team
dmrulesteam
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:27 pm


Return to Dice Masters Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests